People are made to be known and to know.

God is teaching me about love and friendship. God wants us to love, He wants us to have fellowship, He wants us to be encouraged, and He wants us to connect with other people.

The other day I was talking to a friend, (imagine that – the irony of God using a friend to teach me something about Himself) and she mentioned something that I hadn’t taken into account. When Adam was with God, before Eve came into the picture, He had perfect communion with God. He loved God fully, He hadn’t sinned, and He could talk and hang out with God all the time! It was perfect! Yet, something was missing. God said it was good. The trees were good, the lilacs were good, the animals were good, the sun and moon and stars were good; but there was still something missing – fellowship with another human being. God wanted Adam to have a human partner, even IN perfection. God’s idea of having fellowship didn’t come after sin entered the world. He wants humans to have fellowship with each other all the time – not only because we need accountability, but because it’s good!

We were made in the image of God, and we resemble God when we have close, meaningful, deep relationships with other Believers. The Father has deep, close relationships with Jesus and the Holy Spirit. Good gravy – they’re one Spirit in three Beings! How much closer can you get!?

What I’m thinking about is how we, as Believers, all have that SAME spirit in us – the Spirit of God, the Holy Spirit. God wants us to follow His example of community. Holy wowzers. God wants us to have community! He wants us to enjoy one another, to love one another deeply, to share, and to connect. Sweet. I like this.

People were made to be known and to know others. 

What I have been learning lately is that sometimes we distance ourselves from other Believers, and live saying ‘I don’t need you. I don’t need people in my life. I don’t need community’.

False.

This is a straight up lie. It is! Let’s be honest….we’ve all been hurt by people. We all find it hard to trust God, who is perfect, let alone people, who are imperfect. People hurt people. Yes, this is true. Yes, this is hard. Yes, this is a bit scary, because it means that we have power to hurt and we also are at risk of becoming hurt by others. But, as Christians, what are we called to do? How are we to interact, as Believers?

We are called to love, to encourage, to uplift, to help, to even die for our friends.

Jonathan and David (guys in the Old Testament) loved each other as friends deeply! In 1 Samuel 18:1, it says it this way, …”the soul of Jonathan was knit to the soul of David, and Jonathan loved him as his own soul.”

Loved him as his own soul!?! That does not seem like a petty kind of love to me! That sounds like the kind of love that moves people to do crazy and out of the ordinary things, like dying for a friend (John 15:13)!

I don’t know why, but for some reason I had this idea in my head that made me question whether I should love people to the extent that I do. Why do I want to be around people? Why do I want to talk with other Believers, learn from them, grow close to them, and have deep, meaningful relationships? Why? Because that’s how my God made me! Our God made us to be known and to know!

So, when I know that I have intense love for my friends, and that I just want to love them well, be around them, speak Truth to them, pray for them, and love them more, I no longer need to be afraid that my passion is becoming too much. Ha! Who can have more passion than Jesus Himself!? I mean really….there won’t be a day in which I will outgrow Jesus in love or in passion. In this sense, I am very encouraged; because I want to now grow in more passion and love for God and for others! Why? Because – it’s what I was made for! It’s my job to love intensely, and I love that. 🙂

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to People are made to be known and to know.

  1. I’m reading about Jonathan & David this week. I’ve also been thinking lately about this kind of Christ-like love.

Leave a Reply

