This video shows clips from when two Christian music artists/bands, Leeland and Brandon Heath, went to Cambodia with Food for the Hungry. Before watching this video, I was thinking about Cambodia and how much pain, loss, fear, and need is there. I was thinking about myself and how I know I can’t fix those things.

Then I watched the video, and saw people simply loving other people. It didn’t require a government or a program or a strategic plan. It required some kids and a game of duck duck goose. I saw simple love. I was reminded that it’s not about me – about what I have or don’t have or about what I can do. It’s just about me sharing what I already know and what I already have – the love of Christ. When I start with the love of Christ, it just spreads to more love – for God and for people.

It’s just a difference in focus. When I start with myself, I begin to dwell on my fears, my inadequacy, my hesitations. When I start with Jesus, I begin to dwell on how much He loves and how great He is, how powerful He is, and how He loves to love. Jesus loves to love. Jesus loves me to love. Jesus loves when people give and receive love. That’s what it’s about – loving God and loving others. It’s not about fixing a country. That’s not my job. The world already has a Savior. His name is Jesus. My role is a Lover – a Lover of Jesus. Simply loving God is often times just loving people simply.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
Link | This entry was posted in Cambodia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

