What I’m learning in Sweden

I’m currently in Gothenburg, Sweden for a sweding (my made up word for a Swedish wedding…really, the word is bröllop)! Here, I’ve found it is much more quiet and peaceful everywhere I go. I think people are more contemplative, which I like, because it allows for good thinking time. There’s good thinking time while on the bus (I love riding the bus!), while walking to destinations, and while doing typical, every day events. There’s more quiet. Sometimes that’s good and sometimes that’s bad (depending on the situation and the personality and preferences of people). For me, it has been a good time to contemplate, live peacefully, and enjoy where I am when I’m there while I can. While I’ve had good contemplation time, I’ve also gained a lot of wisdom from talking to my beautiful, wise friends here. I wanted to share a few wise words of wisdom and some realizations I’ve come across the last few days.

  1. I need to enjoy what I’m doing where I am when I’m doing it….because honestly, that’s all I can do. That’s all we, as humans, have the ability to control. We have control over ourselves in this moment where we are with what we’re doing.
  2. Understanding isn’t coping….even though I understand or process something (whether it be an event, an emotion, or a person) in my head or even externally, I may not have coped with it in a healthy manner. Coping and understanding are two different things. Understanding is having knowledge of something. Coping is the way in which I handle that knowledge of that ‘something’. There are also different ways of coping – one, in a healthy manner, or the other, in an unhealthy manner. Coping in a healthy manner includes taking care of the body, mind, and soul. Coping in an unhealthy manner usually means (for me, at least) that there is an unhealthy balance or focus on the event which causes me to either supress everything or to release everything all at once in an explosion. (Props to Chris – soon to be Chris Anderrson!!! for wisdom and insight on this).
  3. “To be understood is to understand.” – Sarah MachLachlan’s song – Prayer of St. Francis http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VSyuar6oF8
  4. Jesus ministered to His home group of people…..this has been insightful for me, because I realize where my heart is right now (Waterloo, the city right next door to where I live and only an hour away from where I grew up). And, I realize, too, that it’s incredibly strategic, Biblical, and effective for me be close to where I grew up, because relationships naturally build when people have something in common.
  5. People want to know and to be known…..I know I’ve said this a thousand times, and to be honest, I will probably still continue to say it until it becomes a life statement so matter-of-fact that it’s a ‘given’ Truth which I don’t even need to verbalize to believe. Plus, it’s true. And important. And not stated enough.
  6. Is your idea of the greatest person you could be more effective, more holy, or more worshipful than God’s idea of the greatest person He could make you?…..the only correct answer to this question is an adamant, ‘No, of course not!’ Yet, I realize my silent answer, being, ‘yeah….I mean, all He wants me to do is live and love where I am when I can. In my greatest dreams, I’m a heroic superstar!’ Ha….it’s funny, because the Truth of the matter is, I am most effective, most holy, and most worshipful when I am being who God created me to be, because He created me for a speficic time, for a specific people, and for a specific purpose. And, that purpose is not my own.
  7. “It was a frickin’ spiritual awakening!” – Brene’ Brown (This part alone is worth watching the whole clip, but if you just want to see this hilarious story, start at 6:30.) Thanks to A-Dau and Bresky, I watched this funny, insightful clip approximately 10 minutes ago. Check it out. It talks about shame, guilt, and vulnerability; and includes many wise and insighftful Truths.

http://www.ted.com/talks/brene_brown_listening_to_shame.html

 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

