The Trauma of Divine Glory

As promised, this blog is about encountering Jesus and falling face down. As I have said before, I know God is telling me something important when He tells me multiple times in different ways. He has recently used a documentary (Nefarious: Merchant of Souls), a friend (check out her cool blog here), and my church’s study of the book of Revelation to bring me to the same theme, which is the trauma of divine glory.

Two Sundays ago, at church, the title of the sermon was the Trauma of Divine Glory. This title blew me away, because it was and is so incredibly relevant. One of my first thoughts was that nothing in life is more traumatizing than the glory of God. In this sense, the trauma (of divine glory) is not a negative thing. Here’s my own definition.

Trauma (of divine glory), n.
1. positive
2. something the human body/mind cannot fully comprehend
3. results in shock and reoccurring thoughts and memories of the event

When does the trauma of divine glory occur? The trauma of divine glory occurs when people encounter God. The part that I love the most is how people react to meeting Jesus. It’s not an embrace or a loving hug or even a cry. It’s falling down flat on their faces! (I picture arm-less veggie tales types of falling.) The shock is so overwhelming that people just fall flat – face down on the ground. Ha! Jesus is SO glorious that we fall on our faces as though dead! These are real reactions from people who have encountered Jesus and have experienced the trauma of divine glory.

1. Woman talking about a vision of God
In the documentary (Nefarious: Merchant of Souls), there is a lady who speaks at the end of the movie. She is an overcomer, someone who was beaten down in life and lived through the trauma of human trafficking; but through Christ, she has overcome. She talks about Jesus and she talks about how Jesus came to her, so gently and so kindly. She talks about His beauty and when she saw Him, she said, she fell face down, as though dead.
2. John talking about a vision of God
When John encountered Jesus, he says in Revelation 1:17 that he fell at His feet, as though dead.
3. Ezekiel talking about a vision of God
“Such was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the Lord. And when I saw it, I fell on my face, and I heard the voice of one speaking.” – Ezekiel 1:28
4. Peter, James, and John as Jesus showed them His glory while they were on the mountain
He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” 6 When the disciples heard this, they fell on their faces and were terrified. 7 But Jesus came and touched them, saying, “Rise, and have no fear.” 8 And when they lifted up their eyes, they saw no one but Jesus only. – Matthew 17:5- 7
4. Jesus appeared to Abram
When Abram was ninety-nine years old the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am God Almighty; walk before me, and be blameless, that I may make my covenant between me and you, and may multiply you greatly.” Then Abram fell on his face. – Genesis 17:1-3

….I want to start praying more intently for encounters like this, where I experience just a glimpse of His glory – just a slice of the future, and end up falling on my face because of the radiant glory of Jesus! I LOVE this! I love this, because I know that the trauma of divine glory is more traumatic than any other experience I have had or will ever have in my life. Jesus is greater, more powerful, more impactful, more shocking than any other thing in the world, whether good or bad. Jesus’ glory outdoes any positive or negative “shocking” thing in the world. Nothing compares to the glory of Jesus.

So, I pray that Jesus would show me and you His glory, because I want to have the fear of the Lord. I want to experience the trauma of divine glory!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

