Cambodia Update: My Father’s World

Nothing in Cambodia made sense to me. It didn’t make sense that fathers and mothers sold their daughters and sons. It didn’t make sense that foreign men travelled across the world to buy a girl for $3 an hour. It didn’t make sense that children of all ages sold souvenirs to obvious foreigners walking along the Riverfront and knew how to answer in English that they went to school (even though they were selling in the middle of the day), needed money, and were hungry for the nearest food product. It didn’t and doesn’t make sense.

It’s right that it doesn’t make sense, because this isn’t how the world is supposed to be. The world was meant to be filled with satisfied people, with worshippers, with people who know that they’re loved and were made for love. The world was supposed to know that they belong to the Father.

The story:

As we rode in the tuk tuk (our most typical form of transportation while we were in Phnom Penh) I talked to the Lord. Like most other moments throughout the day, I was having trouble knowing, describing, or being able to verbalize emotions. I said, “Lord, I want Your heart. I don’t care what my emotions are anymore. It doesn’t matter what I feel or where my heart is; because I want Your heart. I want to know what You are thinking, what You are feeling. What are You thinking? What are You feeling?”

As we rode by the huts, the food stands, the people along the road, the other tuk tuks and motos, he began to specifically point out each single individual and every single building, hut, and thing, claiming, “That’s Mine. That’s Mine. That’s Mine. That’s Mine.”

At that moment, I did not have fear. I did not have anxiety. I felt secure, and I had joy. I had a glimpse of the Father’s heart. I did not see the world through my own eyes. I saw the world through my Father’s eyes. This is my Father’s world. He knows He owns it. He’s just waiting, patiently and mercifully, for the world to figure out that they belong to Him.

This is my Father’s world and to my listening ears
All nature sings and round me rings the music of the spheres

This is my Father’s world I rest me in the thought
Of rocks and trees of skies and seas His hand the wonders wrought

This is my Father’s world O let me ne’er forget
That though the wrong seems oft so strong God is the ruler yet

This is my Father’s world oh the battle is not done
Jesus Who died will be satisfied And earth and Heav’n will be one

Yes Jesus who died will be satisfied
and earth and heaven
Oh earth and heaven
oh earth and heaven
will be one

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Cambodia, Human Trafficking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cambodia Update: My Father’s World

  1. That’s so sweet how He showed you that everything belongs to Him. How good it is to be in the boundary of His hand… and He has BIG hands!

  2. heather says:

    Love, I’m so glad that you where given this perspective. Be blessed lovely thank you thank you thank you for loving me enough to come and visit

Leave a Reply

