Cambodia: Things are not okay right now. Now What?

The story:
Things are not okay right now. Boys, men, girls, women, little children, and others in between are being mistreated, abused, trafficked, drugged, forgotten, ignored; and this is not okay. It’s reassuring and comforting to know that it’s okay to admit that THINGS ARE NOT OKAY RIGHT NOW. It’s not only okay to admit that our hearts are broken over this – over our own sin and over our broken world. It is right and Godly to admit it! Not only this, either, but there is more action to be taken!

God wants our response to our sin and our broken world to be a contrite heart.
“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” – Psalm 51:17

Things are NOT okay right now. Jesus isn’t here, yet. We’re not perfect. We’re not with Him, yet. Things will NOT be okay until we are with Jesus. So what can we do?…Ask Jesus to come back by praying and fasting.

Luke 5:32
“The days will come when the Bridegroom is taken away from them, and then they will fast in those days.”

Practical Application: Prayer and Fasting
I have been and still am learning more about prayer and fasting. I know that God calls us to pray and fast, because it’s talked about in Scripture. (Isaiah 58, Jonah 3:6 – 10, Joel 2:12 – 13, Daniel 10, Matthew 6:16 – 18, Luke 4:1 – 13) I encourage you to seek God on how He is calling you to pray and fast. I don’t know what it is, but I know that He wants you to spend time with Him. If something is taking up a lot of your time (Internet, video games, cell phone, work) write down a specific amount of time (hours, days, weeks) where you will use the time usually spent with/on ______ to instead be with the Lord. I pray you grow in intimacy with the Lord, and that He shows you more of His goodness, His faithfulness, and His unconditional love.

 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Cambodia, Human Trafficking, Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cambodia: Things are not okay right now. Now What?

  1. Laura says:

    I spent 15 days in Cambodia and Thailand back in January this year working with rescued girls, working girls, as well as massage parlor boys. I came home traumatized. Cambodia’s RLD is terrible. There is so much evil being done there, and while many NGO’s are working hard against the trafficking, there is much more that we could do. Change comes through prayer and fasting, thanks for this reminder 🙂

    • morgangascho says:

      Laura – wow! Thanks for sharing! Where were you in Cambo? We went in June (some of us for two weeks, some of us for three) to see one of our friends there who is currently with AIM (Adventures in Missions). We were in Phnom Penh, and we went to Siem Reap for a day and a half. I think the best way for me to think through/process/remedy everything is to focus on the Justice of Jesus. Learning about how He is the Just Judge and how He is coming back the 2nd time as the roaring Lion (not as the Lamb, as He came the first time) has been nourishment to my soul. If you have time, I would encourage you to check out Benji Nolot’s (Exodus Cry) message called REBUKE THE OPPRESSOR. http://exoduscry.com/blog/rebuke-the-oppressor/

      • Laura says:

        Hey Morgan! I was in Phnom Penh, Siem Reap, Kampong Cham, as well as Bangkok, Thailand. I went as a part of a 3 credit class on Human Trafficking and Child Exploitation with my college. I think what made the trip most difficult for me was being there and not being able to do anything to stop what was happening. Thanks for the link, never heard this message before – I will definitely check it out this afternoon. 🙂

  2. I was just thinking about this song as I was writing. Wow, sister, I am encouraged by you, even though this is difficult stuff.

Leave a Reply

