Sin born out of hurt

The Story:
I have this beautiful friend who speaks Truth like it’s her job! (Because…as Christians, it IS our job…Ephesians 4:29, Ephesians 5:19). It’s cool to hang out with her and to just be around her, because she’s really encouraging! It’s common and normal in conversation to hear her remind somebody of Truth. I’ve heard her, many a time, remind people of their beauty or royal status in Christ in unexpected ways. We’ll be commenting on a beautiful sunset, and she’ll lovingly remind us, “YOU’RE BEAUTIFUL!” 

I LOVE my sister, and I love how she speaks Truth in every day life. The other night, we were talking, and she said, “Every sin is born out of hurt.” This statement rang louder than the other words, and I started pondering the Truth behind it. I got to thinking….I haven’t thought of a sin that ISN’T done out of a place of brokenness, hopelessness, or pain.

This thought brought me to another important point. This is why healing (referring specifically to inner healing -> emotional/mental/spiritual) is so important to God!
God’s desire is to be with us.
Because we sin, God can’t have His desire.
Our sin separates us from God, because God can’t be around evil.
We sin sometimes because we have past hurts we are not yet healed from.

When we sin, God does not get His greatest desire. He wants to be with us! He wants us to be healed from past hurts, from pain, from hurtful pasts. Why? God wants to be with us!

God has more than one reason for wanting us to be healed. He doesn’t just want healing done because it’s good to talk about and causes celebration. Although, don’t get me wrong – God DOES enjoy good parties! (Luke 15 1:7  – the one lost sheep among the existing 99 gets rejoicing and a partay among the neighbors, Luke 15:11 – 32 – the Prodigal son returns home to a partaaaay!, John 2:1 – 12 – Jesus turns water into wine at a wedding party). He also wants healing to come not just so He can show His power. That’s part of it, but not all of it. God wants us to be healed, in order that we can be WITH Him. Everything is about God in relation with us.

So….inner healing is important. Praying that we would be healed of past hurts from people is important. Praying to forgive is important. Praying to not have bitterness is important. Loving people FULLY is important. All of these things are important, not because God is a stickler, but because He’s JEALOUS FOR YOU! God wants to be with you! It’s the cry of His heart!

I pray that it’s the cry of our heart to be with Him, and that our passion for Him is greater than any other passion we have.

“Our passions are not too strong, they are too weak. We are far too easily pleased. – C.S. Lewis

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

