Father, “Is this safe?”

Image

The Story:
In my mind, I was protective….holding her hand when we crossed the street, walking on the side of the street where the cars drove past, opening and closing doors before and after she entered and exited, prompting her to wear the seat belt, holding her hand in case she fell when we were wading in the water….all of these were safety precautions I was using, because I was aware of the need for her to be protected. I don’t know if she felt protected, but the Truth is she was protected. (Notice that most of these “safety motions” either involved me standing between her and the possibility of danger [be it cars, the street, ect.] OR involved me holding her hand to prevent hurt.)
All of these things, I was doing as protective measures. I knew she was secure, safe, and protected; because I was there. If anything did happen, I was there. I wasn’t going to let anything happen. I had security in myself that she didn’t have in herself OR in me, because she constantly asked, “Is this safe?”
She asked this question more than once – first, on the dock, second, in the water, and third, on the playground. On the dock, we were together. In the water, we were together, sometimes even hand in hand. On the playground, she was on the equipment, and I was nearby. (Twice I was with her – physically within a hand’s reach. Once, I was only a few steps away.)

In none of these situations did I even think about safety being an issue. While her mind was worried about security and safety, I was surprised by her question, “Is this safe?”. In fact, I even chuckled the first time she asked, because it was such an unexpected question. ‘Of course we’re safe’, I thought to myself. ‘I’m right here and I’ve been here and done this many times. I just thought this would be fun for you.’

– Her reaction: fear, insecurity, asking questions – even though I’m there with her, walking in front of her, holding her hand…
– My intention for her: to have fun

Sound familiar? This story (true by the way – it was part of my day) happens oh so many times, except the role is reversed. We’re the child and our Heavenly Father is the caretaker.
He says, “Here! I’m giving you this (new job, new relationship, new family, new church, new location)! It’ll be great! I’m so excited to watch you enjoy this good gift I’ve given you!”
Our response: “….um…..Is this safe?” (head looking around at what is SEEN in our world, not at Him or at what He’s DOING around us spiritually)

Our response is, “Is this safe?”, because as Believers, we don’t trust ourselves AND we don’t trust the Father. He trusts Believers AND Himself more than we trust either. (He has a right to trust Believers, too, because they have His Spirit – the Holy Spirit – in them. Don’t let the seen – the flesh – be more of a reality than the unseen – the Spirit – because the Spirit is the more powerful One in that battle).

What a funny picture it is…..
The Father ahead of us, looking back to see if we’re coming to join Him in the fun, and we’re looking around us (not at Him), not able to see what the Father sees, asking if it’s safe. Hm. We have awesome things ahead of us, but we’re too scared to go any farther. We do not believe it’s safe.

The Truth: It’s safe.
The big dream and longing you have that God gave you – it’s safe. It’s more than safe. It’s only a portion of what God dreams for you! It’s safe to trust God in the small things and in the big dreams and in all things in between. Why?…..because, in His Word He promises security in Himself.

Fear not, my brothers and sisters. He is with you. He has good for you – more good for you than you could ever dream.

God’s command to fear not: An important one. I’ve heard “Do not fear/be afraid” + “fear not” is stated something around 366 times in the Bible. That’s a lot. It’s an important one.

– Fear not, Abram, I am your shield – Genesis 15:1
– Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. – Joshua 1:9
– Do not fear for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. – Isaiah 41:10
– Do not fear for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. – Isaiah 41:10
Fear not, little flock, for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. – Luke 12:32
– Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. – John 14:27
– When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead. But he laid His right hand on me, saying, “Fear not. I am the first and the last, and the living one…” – Revelation 1:17-18

My prayer for us, as brothers and sisters in Christ:
Father, You’re good. I know You give us good gifts, and You don’t hesitate. You have so many good gifts set out for us, but our fear overcomes us. I pray against fear. I pray that our LOVE FOR YOU overcomes fear of this world. Give us eyes, ears, spirits, and knowledge to KNOW that ACCORDING TO THE RICHES OF YOUR GLORY YOU GRANT US TO BE STRENGTHENED WITH POWER THROUGH YOUR SPIRIT IN OUR INNER BEING (Ephesians 3:16). I know You give us this strength in our Spirit IN ORDER THAT YOU (CHRIST) MAY DWELL IN OUR HEARTS (Ephesians 3:17). You dwell in our hearts through our faith, so give us greater trust in You, Lord. Help us to trust You, THAT WE MAY BE ROOTED AND GROUNDED IN LOVE. OOOOO GOD THAT THIS MAY BE TRUE OF US BELIEVERS TODAY! We don’t just want to know it in our heads. We want to KNOW love! We want to EXPERIENCE love! We want to GIVE love! We want to RECEIVE love well! WE – not me, not I, not an individual, but WE as a corporate BODY (all together, connected, in fellowship, with ONE Spirit) – WE WANT TO HAVE STRENGTH TO COMPREHEND WITH ALL THE SAINTS WHAT IS THE BREADTH AND LENGTH AND HEIGHT AND DEPTH, AND TO KNOW THE LOVE OF CHRIST THAT SURPASSES KNOWLEDGE, THAT YOU MAY BE FILLED WITH ALL THE FULLNESS OF GOD! WOOOHOO! AMEN!!!!!
Ephesians 3:14 – 19

 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

