Writing our Prayers

Sometimes we feel disconnected from God.
Sometimes we want connection with God, but we don’t know HOW to connect. We don’t know what to say or where to start.
This is a practical application to HOW to pray:
1. Pick a Psalm you identify with.
If you can’t find one you identify with, just pick one.
2. Read a line or a phrase and put it into your own words.
Repeat.
Repeat.
Repeat.
3. Congratulations. You are meditating on Scripture and you are writing a prayer.

Here is an example of Psalm 63 becoming my own prayer. I just took phrases, words, or lines from the Psalm and wrote them down or put them into my own words. And wall-a! A prayer! 🙂 Thank-You, God, that we have easy access to you!

Example: Psalm 63 – My Satisfaction Chapter

God,

You are my God. I want no other. I have tried this unsatisfying ‘other’, and I want nothing to do with it. You are my God. I will have You and only You; because You are the only One that satisfies me.

I seek YOU.

My soul THIRSTS for YOU.

My flesh faints, because I NEED YOU, GOD!
OH, HOW I NEED GOD!
You are my survival. I have nothing without You. Without You I have nothing.

You are my God. I will have no other. I want no other. Only YOU satisfy.

When I go to my secret place – my hiding place – where only You can find my soul = THERE I AM SATISFIED! There I see Your glory. I experience Your power. I feel Your sweet presence. There I am satisfied -> when I am with You.

“YOUR STEADFAST LOVE IS BETTER THAN LIFE.”

I will have no other. I will not seek out any other. I will not look for another, because only You satisfy. You are the only One who satisfies my soul. Time and time again You satisfy my soul; and my soul longs for You once again. There is a constant yearning, a constant longing in my soul that only YOU SATISFY.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

