Lamenting is good.

I’ve been meditating on (reading about, researching, and praying about) lamenting lately. I gained a lot of insight from watching Michael Card’s videos on lamenting. You can watch these videos online by clicking here. (It comes in 7 parts, so you’ll need to keep clicking on part 2, part 3, part 4, ect. to get through the entire message).

I’m learning so much about lamenting that I need to break up these Truths into little chunks. In this blog, I’ll talk about how lamenting is good.

I started thinking about this basic Truth – that lamenting is good – when I thought about discussions and small group prayer times where others or myself have felt that we can’t be real with other Believers or with God, even in prayer. Sometimes I think we assume that we have to have a “hallelujah” or a “Praise Jesus!” coming from our mouth and Spirit in order for us to be acceptable to God. Not true. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise. – Psalm 51:17.

God finds broken spirits and contrite hearts acceptable and pleasing. Our broken spirits are our sacrifices to God. That’s what He wants from us. He wants our brokenness.

God doesn’t just want us to BE broken. God wants us to TAKE our brokenness TO HIM. He asked us to talk to Him about everything. He asked us to talk to Him ALL THE TIME. He said, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known“. (Philippians 4:6) From this, I understand that God wants us to bring EVERYTHING to Him. If we literally take EVERYTHING to God, that includes good and bad. That includes bad days. That includes days where we lose our jobs. That includes days where we lose our parents. That includes days where we feel like we’re losing our minds. It also includes days where we don’t have much going on. It includes EVERYTHING. When God says EVERYTHING, He means EVERYTHING. I’m going to take God up on this, because that gives me the freedom to share anything and everything with Him. It means that I can tell God the worst, the best, and the in between.

The good thing about this verse in Philippians 4 is that there comes a promise with us taking EVERYTHING to God. The promise is this: “the peace of God which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus”. Because of our obedience and openness in taking EVERYTHING to God, He guards our hearts and minds and gives us peace which passes understanding. (Philippians 4:7)

Lamenting is good. God wants our brokenness. He’s not intimidated by it. He considers it our sacrifice to Him. (Psalm 51:17).

God,
Let my brokenness, my broken spirit and my broken and contrite heart, be a sacrifice to You, O Lord.
Amen.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Lament, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

