Satisfaction

The Story:

In high school, God gave me an insatiable craving for more of Him.
…or so I thought.

I remember being overwhelmed with a thirst and a hunger for the Word; but I wondered if I would ever be satisfied. I asked God time and time again, “Is there any satisfaction with You or is it just temporary satisfaction until we get to Heaven?”

It wasn’t until today, when I started writing out specific Scriptures that I realized my thoughts about satisfaction (and whether or not we get it) have changed. My thoughts have changed, because my knowledge and understanding of Truth has changed. I now understand that there IS satisfaction while we are on Earth.

The fear of the Lord leads to life, and whoever has it rests satisfied. – Proverbs 19:23

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food – Psalm 63:5

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied. – Matthew 5:6

With long life I will satisfy him (who holds fast to me in love) and show him my salvation. – Psalm 91:16

For He satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul He fills with good things. – Psalm 107:9

And the Lord will guide you continually and satisfy your desire in scorched places and make your bones strong; and you shall be like a watered garden, like a spring of water, whose waters do not fail. – Isaiah 58:11

When I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness. – Psalm 17:15

These verses are in different contexts and satisfy different longings; but the similarity between all of them is that there is first a need. Being a Christian means constantly acknowledging our own neediness for God. We will not be satisfied if we are not in need.

God,

We need You. Help us acknowledge our need for You. Give us grace to increase knowledge and understanding that we need You. We know and believe that You give us satisfaction HERE and NOW while we’re still on Earth. We don’t have to wait for the New Jerusalem to be satisfied by You. We want to be satisfied by You NOW, Jesus. Increase Your presence IN us and AROUND us, that we may be satisfied by You and You alone. Amen.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

