A Great Profound Truth: God is hilarious!

I’ve had incredible “profound Truth” moments lately. I’ve been going back and forth in my mind about what to post next, however, when I came across this, I could not deny writing about it.

—-  GOD IS HILARIOUS!  —-

Sometimes I think God just put stories in the Bible in order that we could read them and laugh.

1) The Tower of Babel

God was annoyed with people’s pride getting in the way, because they wanted to “build a name for themselves”, thus God thought it reasonable to “confuse their language, so that they may not understand one another’s speech”. – Genesis 11:1-9

These people think they’re “all that” …planning to make bricks for stone and to use mortar to build a tower to make a name for themselves. God WILL have His glory and will not share it with another, therefore, He thinks of a clever way to throw a wrench in their plan. Can you imagine a guy on a ladder, getting ready to put the next brick on?

“Hey buddy, can you hand me ?לבנים אחר”
“…what? How’d you learn to speak that? What did you want?”
“!אחי, אני לא אוהב גבהים! רק תן לי עוד לבנה”

Haha! And all of a sudden, all communication is lost! Pretty soon, there’s a guy losing his balance on the ladder, because he’s playing charades, trying to tell the next man down that he wants another brick! lol. God is hilarious!

2) It doesn’t even have to be a story. Sometimes, Proverbs are my favorite verses to read because of the analogies.
You know those people whom you warn not do to foolish things, yet they still do foolish things? They come back with the same dumb stories time and time again, seeming to be entertained by their foolishness while everyone else rolls their eyes again. God compares these people to dogs who return to their vomit!
Like a dog that returns to his vomit is a fool who repeats his folly. – Proverbs 26:11

At first, this is quite disgusting. Actually, even the 10th time reading it, it is still disgusting. However, God uses humor to point out the fool’s folly. No one looks at a dog returning to his vomit and replies, “oh cute!”
They know digesting vomit is a bad decision.
Gross. Not good. I wouldn’t do that if I were you…”
It’s the same with fools who return to their folly! haha….God points out to fools – “Do you see how disgusting this is? Do you really want to eat your own crap? What just was regurgitated OUT of your mouth you want to put back in? Gross…that’s just dumb.”

We could go on and on about how God makes funnies in His Word. They’re all over the place. Sometimes we have the mentality that God is too serious to laugh or make jokes, but, my friends….we must remember, God is the God who made people. He made little kids who say inappropriate funnies at just the right time to embarrass their parents. He made people and beans…a combination, which I personally, think He loves! He created comedians. Of course God loves humor! God is the most joyful Being in the Universe! He’s hilarious!

…In Your presence there is fullness of joy… – Psalm 16:11

All that to say…this video inspired this entire post! (Sorry Peta people)

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Great Profound Truth: God is hilarious!

  1. I’ve always thought that it is intuitively obvious that God has a sense of humor. If we enjoy humor and are made in His image, then it must go without saying that He has one too; and that it is greater than our own.

Leave a Reply

