Cambodia: Restoring Hard Places

My friend, Steph, works in Cambodia at The Hard Places Community.

397434_4756272822981_1182047236_n.jpg

Some of our team at the Riverfront in Phnom Penh (Left to Right): Steph, Nicole, Gail

In June, our team was able to meet Stephanie, hang out with her and her team, and work with Hard Places for a couple days. I can honestly say The Hard Places Community includes some of the most dedicated, faith-filled workers I’ve ever seen on the mission field. They pray wholeheartedly. They work passionately and strategically. They love intentionally.

While our team was there, they were preparing a place for more people who have become victims of pimps to come for therapy, rest, and relationship with Believers. You can read more about their work here. We saw for ourselves the reality of the spiritual battle they are fighting. What we saw with our own eyes was the physical reality in Phnom Penh, the capitol city of Cambodia….
– pimps (typically young, teenage boys) sitting on pew benches in a public park to watch their slaves be bought and used for rape
– street kids at the Riverfront huffing glue because they were hungry and had no other means to satisfy their physical hunger
– young women eating lunch with their paying customers who would later use their bodies to temporarily fulfill their sexual longings
– baby boys at the Riverfront playing in dresses, because their family receives more customers and money for selling girls (or boys dressed as girls)

These examples are some of the things I saw with my own eyes in Phnom Penh as we were working with the Hard Places Community. I share these Truths with you not to discourage you, but for you to know the Truth in Cambodia. I am a voice for some of the voiceless there.

I know God has been doing AMAZING things in Cambodia, and there have been testimonies encouraging me this week right and left! I share these hard Truths with you, now, because I know God’s heart is toward Cambodia and He is intensely putting this country on people’s hearts, even now!

If your heart is growing toward Cambodia, pray about what God would have you do. Two of the easiest ways to be a blessing and obey God is to pray and give.

1. Pray with people for Cambodia on Mondays at 10am by watching/listening to the Kansas City’s House of Prayer live webstream and saying “Yes, Jesus!”

2. Give. You can specificially support Steph by going to her website, clicking ‘Donate’, and entering in information on paypal. (I’ve used paypal before, and am a witness that it is a safe online website through which you can donate).

God is a God of great exchanges. In Isaiah 61:3, He promises to give good gifts to those who mourn in Zion…

ashes -> a beautiful headdress
mourning -> oil of gladness
faint spirit -> garment of praise

to grant to those who mourn in Zion—
    to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
    the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;
that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
    the planting of the Lord, that he may be glorified.
– Isaiah 61:3

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Cambodia, Human Trafficking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

