Identity

The story:
You know those bumper stickers? Yea…you know the ones I’m talking about. They’re showy. Bright colors. You have to read them purely for interests’ sake when the stop light is 4 minutes long and your window view consists of the rear of a car and gray concrete.
Bumper stickers. What a genius invention for advertisers.
And for proud soccer moms.

The other day, I was driving behind a bumper sticker (attached to a minivan) that read “MY KID’S AN ALL-STATER!”

That parent must love that kid. They’re bragging about them. They’re identifying their child by success. Whatever the kid did to make ‘all-state’, pleased the parent. I wonder how the Father identifies HIS children.

What bumper sticker does the Father use to brag about His kids?

OVERCOMER.

“MY KID’S AN OVERCOMER.” – the Father

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. – Romans 8:37

And everyone who has been born of God overcomes the world. And this is the victory that has overcome the world—our faith. – 1 John 5:4

The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. – Revelation 3:21

It doesn’t matter if YOU think or believe you are a conqueror! The Lord has CALLED His Beloved Ones Conquerors! He has already identified you as a conqueror!! He has given you a title. And it is Conqueror!

This is the difference between titles given by humans verses titles given by God:
– Humans tend to claim titles/statuses based on the human standards of achievement.
– God gives statuses to people based on Godly standards of HIS own achievement.

HUMAN STANDARDS: BASED ON ACTIONS DONE BY HUMANS
The all-state kid (the one who was claimed “successful” according to a bumper sticker) was successful in the eyes of the parent. (By the way – this is great. Parents – honor your children by encouraging them and complimenting them in the achievements of their Godly goals. You, as a parent, are to help and encourage your children know their identity and role). The child was successful based on what HE/SHE accomplished.

GODLY STANDARDS: BASED ON ACTIONS DONE BY GOD
God gives us the title of “Conqueror” based not on our own achievement. God calls us “Conqueror” based on the achievement of His other Son, Jesus. Because JESUS was successful as a Conqueror, (Revelation 3:21) we can be called Conqueror by God.

If you are a Believer in Jesus Christ, God calls you a Conqueror. You are a Conqueror through Jesus.

YOU ARE MORE THAN A CONQUEROR THROUGH HIM WHO LOVED YOU. (Romans 8:37)

What MORE than a Conqueror includes, I have no idea…but it’s a good thing! When I understand what this means, I’m sure it will result in a dance party to thank Jesus!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

