Introspection (Part III): Dance it off!

There is a tendency for us to throw ourselves a pity party when we get discouraged.

“…everyone else is being blessed…what about me?”
“….why do they have this now and I’ve been praying and petitioning for months…years….and I have not seen God’s promise come through…poor me…”

Sometimes we see this in action when people isolate themselves in a corner away from others in order that they can increase their pain of “being alone, left out, and neglected.” (A common lie people believe, particularly when they isolate themselves because Satan can feed into this lie way too easily when they are alone). Others prefer to distract themselves from the issue by eating chocolate, ice cream, and watching a ‘feel good romantic comedy’. Let me assure you, neither is a good coping mechanism.

The options God gives us when we are hurt, worried, frustrated, angry, sad, (include any emotion in here) is to worship Him. We can talk to mature Believers, we can pray, we can sing, we can dance, we can cry out to Him, we can fast, we can write a lament Psalm. We can do all these things. As long as we worship Him.

Thus, we must worship!

Sometimes, the best way to worship is to express emotions you don’t necessarily feel in order that God can give you the reality of those emotions as you worship.

This time, I encourage you (particularly if you are discouraged, frustrated, and/or out of options) to dance! Chicka-what!?! Yep! Dance! If you don’t have moves, who cares – dance by yourself. …or just shake what yo momma gave ya!

This song came on today and was perfect for a dance party for those of us who are shaking off the burden of introspection and are picking up the joy of the Lord.
Cuz’ the joy of the Lord is our strength! So shake it off!

Dance it off!

Get me outta my mind and into Your heart
It’s not about me, it’s not about me
So I’m gonna start playin’ my part in Your design
Now is the time
Get me outta my mind
Outta my mind

*Just for clarity sake: if you need to dance it off, then by all means dance it off. If you need to mourn and lament, then by all means do that. Follow the leading of the Holy Spirit. This is just a post to encourage those of us who are taking ourselves too seriously to lighten up and dance it off.
But, in all honesty, if you need to weep, fast, and mourn, then do that. There is a time for everything. (Ecclesiastes 3)

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

