Heart Check – Compassion

A great Truth was driven deeper into my Spirit last night. The weightiness of Jesus’ compassion hit me. We, as Believers, will have an overflow of compassion when we realize Jesus’ compassion.

Examples of Jesus’ compassion:
Matthew 9:36
When He saw the crowds, He had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

Matthew 14:14
When He went ashore, He saw a great crowd, and He had compassion on them and healed their sick.

Matthew 15:32
Then Jesus called His disciples to Him and said, “I have compassion on the crowd because they have been with me now three days and have nothing to eat.”

Luke 7:12-13
As He drew near to the gate of the town, behold, a man who had died was being carried out, the only son of his mother, and she was a widow, and a considerable crowd from the town was with her. And when the Lord saw her, He had compassion on her and said to her, “Do not weep.”

Luke 15:20
And he arose and came to his Father. But while he was still a long way off, his Father saw him and felt compassion, and ran and embraced him and kissed him.

Jesus healed people out of his heart of compassion. Jesus is a man of compassion. The Jesus who is the Just Judge (John 5:30) is the same Jesus who is gracious, merciful, slow to anger, and abounding in steadfast love.

Psalm 145:8
The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.

Jesus,
Forgive me for not being merciful and for just wanting to be rescued by you from this earth. Forgive me for just wanting an escape from this world and for not standing in the reality that I have all authority in Heaven and on earth. (Matthew 28:18) Forgive me for being afraid and for not trusting in Your plan. Forgive me for not really believing that I can stand in victory on this earth, even right now. Forgive me, because I can now see that due to my misplaced anger, I have lacked compassion. I have not had compassion on unbelievers, because I was mad at them. I was directing my anger toward them, but they are not my enemy. My enemy is the devil. Give me righteous anger, Lord. I want to hate what You hate, love what You love. I want to be like You. I want Your compassion on unbelievers. I want to pray for You to come back, Jesus, but I also want to embrace this time of mercy in order that unbelievers can be persuaded to join our family. May more come into our family, Lord. I embrace our big family. Thank-you for my trillions of brothers and sisters and for those who are yet to come join us.
Amen.

Believers – I share this with you, because I have realized anger in my heart. It has limited me spiritually, because I have been unable to be compassionate. I’ve become angry toward unbelievers for being unbelievers and for doing evil. I’ve directed my anger at unbelievers instead of the enemy. Satan is the enemy. He acts like he has authority (going around roaring like a lion).

1 Peter 5:8
Be sober-minded; be watchful. Your adversary the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.

Believers – we have to remember that our enemy is not people. It’s not flesh and blood. Our enemy is satan.

Ephesians 6:12 
For we do not wrestle against the flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.

If satan is the enemy, then I direct my anger toward him, not toward unbelievers. Unbelievers do not have the Holy Spirit in them to help them know Jesus. Because of this, we just need to plead with them to accept the grace of God. Intercede for those who are not yet Believers, but who will become Believers. Intercede with Jesus. (John 17)

Jesus desires that His Bride (His people) be with Him. This is true. However, Jesus desires and IS WORTHY of the COMPLETE NUMBER of His people to be with Him. We do not want to limit our own hearts in believing that we (the number of Believers up until this point in time) are enough. Jesus is more worthy than this. Jesus is worthy of ALL hearts worshipping Him in love and in Truth. Jesus is worthy. Jesus desires that ALL worship Him.

Because of this, I am praying that we (as Believers) have Jesus’ heart of compassion and want what He wants – for ALL to come to repentance and to join our family. May it be so.
Amen.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

