Injustices

I listened to a sermon yesterday.
You can listen to it here for free by clicking on The Chief Abolitionist by Stuart Greaves (under the 2012 Exodus Cry Abolition Summit Audio Teachings).

The topic Stuart Greaves talked about is a hot topic today: Justice.

My key take away point: The greatest injustices have been made by us toward God.

Injustices are the same. (All are ultimately against God). However, sometimes, others are involved. This is often the order (of both frequency and seriousness) of how we organize thoughts about injustices in our minds.

1. Injustices/wrongs done against us
2. Injustices/wrongs done against others
3. Injustices/wrongs done by us

The interesting thing about this is that we think of how we’ve been wounded first. After, we sometimes think of how others have been wounded. Lastly, we think about how we have been the ones wounding.

These are all good things to gain healing from through confession and prayer. However, I’ve found that it has not been beneficial for me to dwell on any of these for long.

Dwelling on wrongs done against me causes bitterness.
Dwelling on wrongs done against others causes self-righteousness or hopelessness.
Dwelling on wrongs done by me causes guilt/shame or spiritual identity crisis (not knowing who I am in Christ).

There’s a difference between focusing on something for a time and dwelling in that place. I would not come to a swamp that I needed to cross and sit down in it, dig myself deeper, sit there for hours, and sit in the slush. If I needed to get through the swamp in order that I could cross to the other side, I would roll up my pant legs, step through the swamp steadily, without getting stuck, and I would not go back in once I was to the other side.

It’s the same with forgiveness. I don’t dwell on the wrongs done to me. I steadily focus on stepping in the safest places possible in order that I can make my way across the injustice instead of getting pulled into it. I can be in the place of pain and feeling the effects of what happened to me, but I do not sit and dwell in that place. I pray for forgiveness and healing for myself. I pray for forgiveness and healing for my offender. Then I get out of the swamp, and I keep walking.

If I wanted to poison myself with bitterness, I would dwell on the wrongs done against me. We don’t dwell on wrongs done against us.

What DO we dwell on?
If I want to get to the other side, I dwell on the motivation to get to that other side. The motivation is always Jesus.

I look at Jesus. I dwell on Jesus. I think of Jesus. I sing about Jesus. I talk about Jesus. I pray to Jesus. Dwelling on Jesus is always safe and good and worthy.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

