Jesus’ Response to Breaking Roofs

Jesus is incredible. He responds to situations differently every time. Why? Because He perceives in His Spirit. He isn’t living based on His flesh. He’s living according to the Spirit. (Romans 8:5-6)

His responses are incredible! If the element of humor is surprise, I would be on the floor rolling with laughter. I would be completely surprised!

Who else does what He did? When Jesus was preaching in a packed house (so packed that  there wasn’t even room at the door!), four men broke the roof to let down a paralytic man. They BROKE THE ROOF! ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?

Jesus is busy preaching to a packed house! Literally – a room in which people couldn’t even enter through the door! He has all these people to teach! He’s in the middle of something! And, there’s a crowd there! He’s preaching about GOD of all things! It’s not like this ISN’T important!

Jesus’ response?

And when Jesus saw their faith, He said to the paralytic, “Son your sins are forgiven.” (Mark 2:5)

….”Son your sins are forgiven”???? ….are you kidding me? ….that’s Your response, Jesus?
Not “Son, you broke the roof!” or “Hold on a minute, I’m teaching to a packed house!”
No…..
Jesus’ response was, “Son, your sins are forgiven”.

Compassion.

It doesn’t even stop there, though. When the scribes were doubting whether or not Jesus was God and had the authority of God, Jesus addressed them, too. (Mark 2:6-11) Even though they were not believing, Jesus had compassion on the scribes.

The scribes were sitting there, questioning in their hearts. They were wondering why Jesus spoke like He did, and they even thought He was blaspheming (lying about saying He was God). The scribes didn’t believe Jesus, but that didn’t stop Him from showing His power. People’s disbelief does not distract or discourage Him.

He responded by regarding exactly what was in their hearts. He perceived in His Spirit that they were questioning. (Mark 2:8) He asked them why they were questioning. He acknowledged their disbelief, and then He did a miracle anyway – right in front of their eyes. He healed the paralytic! He didn’t even heal the paralytic to prove to the scribes that He could heal. He healed the paralytic to show the scribes that He had power to forgive sins! Ha! What a hilarious response!

What an appropriate response! The effect of Jesus’ response was for people to give God glory.

When the people saw that the paralytic man was healed, “they were all amazed and glorified God, saying, “We never saw anything like this!” (Mark 2:12) Everything Jesus says and does is for the purpose of glorifying God. (John 17:1)

All this to say what?
….that when people break your roofs, heal them?
Ha! By all means!
…that when people interrupt you while you’re doing important work, bless them?
Completely!
…that when people doubt Jesus’ authority, testify of God’s power?
Absolutely.

We serve as Christ serves, thus we follow suite.
Onward and upward, Christian soldiers!

– Go live according to the Spirit. (Romans 8:5-6)
The outcome is a good one – life and peace!
– Go pray for people, praying in the name of Jesus (John 14:13-14).
The promise is that it will be done, AND that the Father will be glorified in the Son. It’s a win-win situation. 🙂

…and don’t be surprised when something wild happens….like Jesus calling you by your identity, showing you He knows who you are. He DOES know your identity, and He WILL call you by name, because He knows you. But, my friends, there is MUCH, MUCH more to come!

Jesus warned Nathanael to be ready for greater things than this. (John 1:43-51)

“Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. (John 14:12)

You will be doing much greater works than these, my friends! What’s greater than what Jesus did? Raising people from the dead, making blind people see, having paralytic people walk, casting out demons, spitting on eyes to make them re-open, walking on water, multiplying food? What’s greater than that? I have no idea, but we’ll find out! Get ready! Prepare yourself for Heaven to come down! (Revelation 21:2)

Heaven’s going to come down! And with Heaven comes the LOVE OF GOD! BRACE YOURSELVES, BECAUSE HIS LOVE IS ABOUT TO BLOW IN THIS PLACE!!!!

Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. 13 Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it. – John 14:12-14

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

