I hate waiting

I hate waiting. I am American. I have learned that if I want something fast, I can get it fast.

I’ve learned to let the small things go. I no longer mind standing in long lines, waiting for food, or waiting for car doors to be open (it becomes a different story when it’s frigid cold outside). When it comes to BIG life commitments or changes for which I am waiting and anticipating, I have little patience. When I am asking God daily over and over and over again for the same thing, it just feels like nagging.

Yesterday, I was around beautiful, young children. I love kids. They’re great. They show me Christ-likeness. However, I have limited patience. I become frustrated sometimes when interacting with kids.

I now know what it felt like when I called out my mom’s name 88 times wondering if she ever heard me. (Sorry, mom. I now know that you are a great multi-tasker, you DID hear me, and you were probably busy doing something else).

Yesterday, this situation happened to me, only I was not the kid. When this beautiful, little child kept calling out my name, “Morgan, Morgan, Morgan, Morgan”, I heard her. I was not ignoring her. I cared about what she wanted. Right at that minute, however, I was doing something else. I could not give her my full attention.

This isn’t how it is with God, though. He hears me. I cry out, “God, God, God, God”, and He hears me. Psalm 116:1-21 John 5:14-15 He likes to listen to me. He isn’t busy doing something else. He gives me His full attention ALL THE TIME!

My God wants me to give Him requests. He wants me to tell Him what I need, and not only that, but also what I want. God wants me to tell Him what I WANT. Good! I want a lot of things! Matthew 7:7-11

I want peace in the world. I want the nations to know You, God. I want all of my friends and family to love and know You. I want them to be overflowing with Your love onto other people, and I want You to be known in the world. I want what You want, God. I not only want this, I need it. The Spirit of God inside me NEEDS for You to be worshipped as You are, or it will be grieving for eternity. Have Your way, God. Your Kingdom come, Your will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven. Amen.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

