I see You do and I do

Jesus said to them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, the Son can do nothing of His own accord, but only what He sees the Father doing. – John 5:19

The Story:
I was using my new GPS (props to the genius people who made Garmin GPS Units) to get to a friend’s house. I don’t know why I turned it on and put in her address, because she was right ahead of me. It was night time and if it weren’t for city street lights I wouldn’t have been able to see 20 feet in front of me. I kept my eyes on my friend’s car, staying as close as possible in order that I could make every turn and corner and switch lanes when she did. Eventually, I just turned off the GPS Unit, because I didn’t need it anymore. I was following my friend, and she knew where she was going. I had direction, because my eyes were focused on where she was going. I didn’t know the end destination and couldn’t get there now if I tried, but when I followed her I had peace, because she knew where she was going.

Do you think Jesus was nervous to follow His Father?
….There’s no doubt in my mind that He LOVED following His Father.

He loved following the Father’s leading, because He KNOWS His Father. He knows that His Father is good and that He will continue to direct Him. He knows that He can TRUST  His Father. Jesus has spent time with His Father and has no doubt that He is reliable. He LOVES the Father. He wants to do what He sees the Father doing.

He KNOWS the Father.
He TRUSTS the Father.
He LOVES the Father.

That’s why He does what He sees the Father doing.

I KNOW that my friend will not lead me astray, thus I follow behind her.
I TRUST that she will lead me the right way, because I know her heart and I know that we have the same end destination.
I LOVE my friend, and know that her heart is to honor God and therefore, also to honor me (because that’s what God asks us to do – honor Himself and people).

When we
KNOW,
TRUST, and
LOVE God,
….we’ll follow Him. It will come naturally, because it will be the only thing that makes sense.

Jesus did what the Father was doing.
We want to do what Jesus is doing.

Jesus, help us to see and know what you’re doing in order that we trust you and love You  more. We want to follow You and do what You’re doing, and we’re excited about it!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

