Psalm 37

Often times we miss great chunks of Truth (some people call them golden nuggets – take your pick) from Scripture, because we read over the verses too quickly. I was reading Psalm 37, and I was questioning how differently my life would be lived and how much more I would trust God if I actually believed what the Word said.

Do I really believe that He will give me the desires of my heart if I delight in Him? (verse 4) If I really believed this, I would delight in Him, be refreshed and feel constantly blessed. It would make things a lot easier.

Do I really believe that if I commit my way to the Lord and trust in Him, He will act? (verse 5) If this were true, I would be signing up to commit every single thing to God. I would not even hesitate to take everything to God. If I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that God would act, I would give up everything easily. There goes anger, there goes doubt, there goes even frustration, because who cares if the Lord is going to take care of it! Freedom! Freedom to not worry about anything, because I know the Lord will act. If I only believed this….Lord, help my unbelief.

What if I kept in mind that in just a little while, the wicked will not be here? (verse 10) I wouldn’t even spend time worrying about or caring that I see evil in the world. I wouldn’t be worried – ever! In fact, I would just pray for mercy for those who are wicked, because I would know that the wrath of God is coming against them and I know that they will not be able to withstand it.

I would join Jesus in laughing and not having a worry, because He even laughs at the wicked, knowing that their day is coming. (verse 13)

The steps of a man are established by the Lord, when he delights in His way. (verse 23) I am directed literally every step of the way. The Lord leads my steps when I am delighting in His way. Jesus, I want to delight more and more in You, Lord! I want every single step to be lead by You so that we are never doing different things. I want to stay with You in what You are doing ALL THE TIME. Jesus, I know that even if I fall, I won’t be by myself, because You hold my hand and support and uphold me. You are good, Jesus, even when I am trying and fail.

I am excited for the day when I can say that I am older and that I have never seen the righteous forsaken and have never seen His children need and not receive from Him. (verse 25)

Not only do His children receive a blessing. They receive abundantly from Jesus, but they also BECOME a blessing to others. Amazing. Jesus gives to us generously, then brings us into His family in order that we have the same things He does. Then He allows us to be the givers who give generously and we get to BECOME a blessing. (verse 25)

The Lord will deliver and does deliver when I take refuge in Him. (verse 40)

Lord,
I believe in You. I am a Believer. Help my unbelief. May I and may we believe what is True about You. Amen.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

