Wisdom from C.S. Lewis

Ephesians 3:20 Now to Him who by His power working in us is able to do far beyond anything we can ask or imagine….

I was reminded of this verse in Ephesians 3:20 today, as I read the following quote by C.S. Lewis: “Our temptation is to look eagerly for the minimum that will be accepted.”

It makes me think what I am missing out on. What am I not asking the Lord for? What am I not expecting from the Lord that He so eagerly wants to give me? The Lord has more for me than I can ask or imagine.

I know God wants to bless me beyond measure (immeasurably – meaning, I can’t put a yard stick on it and say it is a certain height, width, length, or depth).

When it comes to receiving a blessing from the Lord, we cannot measure it. We’re asking for a blessing from the Divine Being who created the Universe, spoke the galaxies and stars and waters into being. I don’t even understand the names of the star constellations. I can barely get all the names of the oceans right. I can hardly remember any of the galaxies. Those things are so beyond me. I am undone. Once again, remembering the HUGENESS of God – that HE is the Creator and that I am the Created – and that He wants to bless me – leaves me undone.

So Papa, the Most High Father, the One who owns everything and made everything and through whom nothing was made nor exists – You are the one we are praying to. We ask that You would bless us with just an ounce of Your goodness today – as much as we can withstand and as much as we have capacity for. Your goodness outdoes us every time. Please just bless us beyond what we can ask or imagine. Amen. 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

