Is that You, Lord?

Sometimes I have to test the waters to know if it’s really the Lord I’m hearing or if it’s just me.

I’m not talking about those times when I’m asking the Lord if it’s Him or Satan. That’s the difference between the Spirit of Truth and the spirit of error. (1 John 4:1-6 addresses this).

What I am talking about is knowing the difference between the Lord’s voice or my own. “Is this just me talking or is this You, Lord?” Honestly, I have no straight line conclusion. It’s probably a “yes”. (You know when you ask the “or” questions and people respond with “yes”? …..I think the Lord does that sometimes …. and then chuckles…)

I figure we have the Holy Spirit in us and the Holy Spirit talks to us in ways we understand. If a voice didn’t sound familiar at all and I couldn’t understand it, I probably wouldn’t listen because it doesn’t make sense and isn’t relevant to me. If the way the voice is speaking makes sense, I’m probably more prone to listen! (This is why I think it’s a “yes” instead of an either/or answer).

All I know is this morning after I got out of the shower, I looked at a book stacked among the top readings located on top of the lo0 (toilet sounds better if pronounced according to the British) entitled, “The Superior Person’s Book of Words”. I heard a still, small voice say, “Look up R-E-D.”
….my thoughts: R-E-D? What? Am I making this up? Lord, if that’s You, remind me tomorrow and I’ll look it up.
…”Look up R-E-D”..again I could hear the still, small voice.
After remembering I’d already told the Lord yesterday to remind me of the same thing when I’d heard “Look up R-E-D”, I grabbed the book to open it.
R-E-D….paging through this alphabetical dictionary of words I’ve never heard, seen, nor attempted to use in my daily verbage, I scroll down the page….
Recrement
Recusant
Redivivus
Rejectamenta – wait a second….go back….”R-E-D”…..
Redivivus…

It starts with R-E-D. What does it mean? I continued to read on, realizing the Lord might be speaking to me through an entertaining book of words I barely recognize…

Redivivus a. Restored to life, or to full liveliness. Use after the noun, and preferably after an incongruously nonclassical noun. If, for example, your name is Boggins, you  might emerge from your shower, taken after a hard day’s gardening, and cry to your wife: “Behold! Boggins redivivus!”

There were multiple ironic things about reading this.
1. The Lord had just spoken to me through a book located on top of the toilet
2. This guy’s name was Boggins! Boggins? What?! I’ve never even heard of a dog named Boggins!
3. The Lord seriously just spoke to me and I heard accurately about three specific letters!! IN ORDER!!!
4. I had just got out of the shower (though my name is definitely not Boggins)
5. The Lord was speaking life over me!
The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. – John 10:10

I was captivated by the Lord’s humor and still am….Redivivus…haha. “R-E-D”. I think I’ll think twice (or maybe only once) the next time I hear a still, small voice.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

