Ask God

Do you need the Heavenly Father to provide for you?

Sidenote: *If you answered “no” to this question, try again. We’re all humans; therefore we are all in need of God.

Us being human qualifies us for needing things emotionally, mentally, spiritually, and physically. We all have needs. It’s not a bad thing to need things from the Lord. In fact, He made us to need Him, because He loves providing for His children. God made us to need Him in order that He could show us that He is our Provider. Provider is even one of God’s names! Jehovah Jireh means “The Lord who Provides”.

Remember the story from Genesis 22 where Abraham takes his son, Isaac, up the mountain and Isaac carries up the wood for the burnt offering on his back while Abraham has a knife in hand? The supplies were all there for the burnt offering, but there was no ram for the offering. Isaac started to wonder about this and asked his dad what was going on.

Isaac said to his father Abraham, “My father?” “What is it, my son?” he replied. “Here is the fire and the wood,” Isaac said, “but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?” “God will provide for himself the lamb for the burnt offering, my son,” Abraham replied. Genesis 22:7-8

With a response like that, if I were Isaac, I wouldn’t have wondered anymore. Abraham responded confidently to his son and there were no more questions to be asked. Abraham didn’t know how it would all work out in the end, but He had faith in God. It wasn’t some complicated idea. It was simple trust in the Lord. I don’t know that I have ever trusted the Lord to that extent – to walk up a mountain and believe that He would provide what I need when I need it at exactly the right moment. I want to have that kind of faith.

Abraham obeyed the Lord so completely that He almost killed his own son. The directions from the Lord were as follows:

After these things God tested Abraham and said to him, “Abraham!” And he said, “Here I am.” He said, “Take your son, your only son Isaac, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah, and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I shall tell you.” So Abraham rose early in the morning, saddled his donkey, and took two of his young men with him, and his son Isaac. And he cut the wood for the burnt offering and arose and went to the place of which God had told him.
Genesis 22:1-3

What astonishes me is the “no questions asked” response from Abraham. It was immediate obedience! Who responds like this?!? “Take my son, whom I love – my only son, mind you – and kill him? Ok, Lord! I will wake up early in the morning and go do as You say even though I have no clue why You are having me do this and even though it makes no sense. I won’t even question if You are really telling me this. I’ll just go and do it, because You said it and You are God and I am man and I love You and trust You wholeheartedly, therefore, I will obey You.”

I mean….what!?!?! If the Lord told me to take my only son and offer Him as a burnt offering I would go to court and sign over the custody papers to my husband! Who does that!? Who says yes to the Lord’s commands that easily without even asking – without double checking if it was the Lord?

My thought behind this is Abraham had to be 100% sure this was the Lord. He wouldn’t have done anything about it otherwise. Abraham must have had such an intimate relationship with the Lord, speaking with Him all the time, knowing what His voice sounded like and obeying Him in the little things on a constant, consistent basis. Otherwise, how in the world would he have had the trust to follow the Lord this time?

I am convinced I want to hear from the Lord, know the Lord, trust the Lord, love the Lord, and obey the Lord to that extent. I want that kind of faith. However, I know that it only comes from hearing and obeying the Lord in the small things first. The Lord grows us from glory to glory. I want to be like Abraham and have faith in God. I know I only need to have faith as small as a mustard seed for anything to happen, but I want my faith to be as big as a mountain itself! (While we’re talking about faith I might as well practice it and shoot for the impossible, right?)

On the mountaintop is where God provided. Abraham and Isaac trekked up the mountain to the place where God had told him (he was obeying in the little things…even listening to specific directions of which hill, which path, which mountain to climb) to go. Abraham obeyed the Lord to the point of wrapping up his son, laying him on the altar, and raising a knife to kill the boy!

 When they came to the place of which God had told him, Abraham built the altar there and laid the wood in order and bound Isaac his son and laid him on the altar, on top of the wood. 10 Then Abraham reached out his hand and took the knife to slaughter his son. 11 But the angel of the Lord called to him from heaven and said, “Abraham, Abraham!” And he said, “Here I am.” 12 He said, “Do not lay your hand on the boy or do anything to him, for now I know that you fear God, seeing you have not withheld your son, your only son, from me.” 13 And Abraham lifted up his eyes and looked, and behold, behind him was a ram, caught in a thicket by his horns. And Abraham went and took the ram and offered it up as a burnt offering instead of his son.14 So Abraham called the name of that place, “The Lord will provide”;[b] as it is said to this day, “On the mount of the Lord it shall be provided.”[c]

The Lord must love climactic points. Talk about good timing! A few seconds later and the boy could have been dead! (Not to say the Lord wouldn’t have raised Him back to life, because He’s also known for doing that.) The Lord, Jehovah-Jireh, my Provider! It’s fitting that Abraham named that place, “The Lord will provide”.

I love the quote, “On the mount of the Lord it shall be provided.” It’s not on the ground or in the sea or in a tree that the Lord provided in this story. It was on a mountain – on a high place – in a place where His people have to climb, trek, sweat, and labor to get there. Nobody is going to climb and sweat and labor for something if they believe they will not receive an end reward. Only people who have hope in something they cannot see will climb a mountain for a reward they do not fully know.

I didn’t have revelation on this “mountaintop” thought before I read this story and wrote this blog, but it makes sense now to me why the Lord has been speaking to me about mountains. I will see verses about mountains and know the Lord is saying something about them, but I won’t have understanding until later. The Lord tends to do that. He tends to have me asking question after question after question to seek Him out in order that I can know Him more.

I’m not in a phase of life anymore where the Lord tells me things right away. He’s growing my faith.

God has stirred me to ask Him to give me more faith lately. Along with that, I realize there’s been more opportunities to trust Him (along with more opportunities to doubt). This is all part of the journey, though. I need to trust in the Lord. I don’t have time for anything else.

God has been reminding me of the song, “Ask” by Anthony Evans. It comes straight from the Scripture in Matthew 7.

“Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him! Matthew 7:7-11

My prayer has been this song. I pray that my faith grows and that you are stirred to pray for more faith in God, as well.

Lord, teach us how to pray for more faith and how to trust You more! We love You! Amen!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

