Psalm 18:25-26

Psalm 18:25-26 (NIV)

To the faithful you show yourself faithful, to the blameless you show yourself blameless.

To the pure you show yourself pure, but to the devious you show yourself shrewd.

Lately, I’ve been meditating on these Scriptures. It’s interesting to me that the Lord shows specific characteristics of Himself to people who embody that characteristic themselves. He speaks to us specifically, according to the unique way He designed us. He speaks to us in ways that we will understand Him. On a heart level, He shows us His specific attributes that are important to us in our own lives.

To the faithful, He shows Himself faithful.
To the blameless, He shows Himself blameless.
To the pure, He shows Himself pure.
To the devious, He shows Himself shrewd.

The Complete Jewish Bible version reads Psalm 18:25-26 the following way:

With the merciful, you are merciful; with a man who is sincere, you are sincere;

With the pure, you are pure; but with the crooked you are cunning.

This reminded me of the Beatitudes (specifically Matthew 5:3-11) where the Lord shows Himself as a satisfaction to whatever specific attribute of God people long for.

The poor in spirit receive the Kingdom of Heaven.

Those who mourn receive comfort.

The meek inherit the land/earth.

Those who hunger and thirst for righteousness will be filled.

The merciful will be shown mercy.

The pure in heart will see God.

The peacemakers will be called children of God.

Those who are persecuted because they pursue righteousness inherit the Kingdom of Heaven.

Those who are insulted and falsely accused because of Jesus receive a great reward in Heaven.

When I was younger, I would ask God all the time to satisfy me. I would cry out day and night to be satisfied by the Lord and for a while, I was convinced that I would never be satisfied. I thought death would come first. I thought satisfaction in the Lord would not come on this side of the earth. I believed that I would not be satisfied in the Lord until I reached Heaven!

The Lord has since told me and shown me otherwise. When I read the promise in Matthew 5:6 that those who hunger and thirst for righteousness will be filled, I clung to the promise. Since then, the Lord has satisfied me. He has filled me. Of course, each day is a new filling of it’s own, and each day I wake up with a different hunger than the day before.

I’m satisfied, but I’m hungry for more of God’s power in my life. I’m filled with Him, but I know there’s more room to carve out in me in order that the Holy Spirit can reside even more within me. I’m satisfied and I’m filled, but I desire and hunger and yearn for more of the Lord. I know the Lord will continue to satisfy me, because His Word says this is the Truth.

What do you specifically desire from the Lord?

Do you want to be comforted?
Do you want to inherit the earth?
Do you want to see God?
Do you want to be shown mercy?

I feel there is an instruction for us here in the Beatitudes to help us seek out specific characteristics in Jesus that we long for. If you want to see God, ask the Lord to make you pure! (Matthew 5:8) If you want to be comforted, mourn. (Matthew 5:4) If you want the Kingdom of Heaven, ask God to help you be poor in Spirit and know that you are in need of the Lord. (Matthew 5:1) Using the Word in this way –  as a guide to know the Lord’s specific attributes has been a helpful tool.

I seek the Lord in different ways than you do. I can only touch the Lord’s heart in the way that I connect and seek Him. The same is true for you! You can only touch the Lord’s heart in a way that no one else can. You can interact with the Lord in a way that no one else can. You have a specific story and certain desires and intricate ways of understanding things and connecting with the Lord. Use this to your advantage! Use the unique way the Lord has made you to interact with Him!

Some of us may really yearn to see God! Then we need to be pure in heart! (Matthew 5:8)

Some of us may long to be called children of God and long for peace on the earth. If this is the case, then we need to be peacemakers! (Matthew 5:9)

Whatever characteristic of the Lord that you want, seek it out with all your being! The best part is He promises to answer when we seek Him wholeheartedly!

Let’s take a look at His promises from His Word, because we know that His Word always stands, outside of time and circumstance.

He promises when you seek Him wholeheartedly, you will find Him.

But from there you will seek the Lord your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul.
Deuteronomy 4:29

He promises those who seek Him diligently find Him.

I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me.
Proverbs 8:17

He promises to be heard by those who call upon Him.
He promises to be found by those who seek Him with all their heart.
He repeats it and AGAIN promises to be found by those who seek Him! He DECLARES that He will be found by you when you seek Him with your whole heart! This is such a promise to bank on, because it means that as we seek the Lord, we WILL find Him!

Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the Lord, and I will bring you back to the place from which I sent you into exile.
Jeremiah 29:12-14

Lord,
We ask that You would specify the attributes within You that most draw our hearts to You. Show us what we specifically love about You and help us to embody those characteristics. Amen!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

