Jerusalem: A ukulele in a gas station and Dino, the dog

The Truth of the matter is sometimes we make things oober spiritual. If you’re wondering what “oober spiritual” refers to, in this case I’m thinking – ridiculous, over dramatic, way too analytical, “ain’t nobody got time for that” kind of “oober spiritual”. It’s usually something that I tend to feel obligated to do but that doesn’t get me closer to my Maker.

To me, it’s the opposite of freedom. It’s obligation…. And usually it’s boring. Thus, I want to tell you a story from a sweet moment last week that wasn’t oober spiritual at all. It just meant something to me. It just happened. And it was fun! It was real life.

The Story:
My friends and I had just finished a worship and prayer set at the House of Prayer. Being midnight, my friends naturally had a craving for chocolate. (Let’s be real – who doesn’t have those midnight cravings?) Thus, we ventured to the gas station to get some chocolate…and now that I think of it…we might have got ice cream as well.

As we ventured by foot to the gas station, I had my ukulele in hand. I’ve learned it’s a great non-violent weapon to combat from a place of victory and to release joy! Fingers strumming along the way, we released joy over the city and even over Israelis who are members of the idf as we passed them at the street light corner! No words were said, and eye contact wasn’t even made; but whether they knew it or not, they were encountering Heavenly vibrations and melodies. It was great!

Upon arrival at the gas station, we met Dino, one of the biggest German Shepherds I’ve ever met in my life! He was a nice fella, friendly in demeanor. The man who brought Dino was the father of the young man at the cash register, and he just happened to have interest in the ukulele. He, a Jewish man, having no idea who I was or what the Maker was releasing through me, asked me to play a little something on the uk! For those of you who’ve ever heard Sean Feucht’s song, “There is a Joy”, you can imagine the smile on the Maker’s face when He heard and saw this beautiful concoction of a moment He stirred up! A Jewish man asked for joy from His Maker! I can imagine the angels saying, “Woulda look at that?!” and just cracking up in joyful laughter praise!

For those of you who haven’t heard Sean Feucht’s music or the song “There is a Joy”, you’re in for a great delight! Check it out below! Enjoy!

http://www.invubu.com/lyrics/show/Sean_Feucht/There_is_a_Joy.html

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Israel, Jerusalem, worship and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jerusalem: A ukulele in a gas station and Dino, the dog

  1. Audrey duuuton says:

    love it!!!! reminds me of a time when two of my friends and i sat in front of a muslim mosque, we thought noone was there,and we were worshiping then my guy friend got out and was playing a uk! he walked right up into the mosque courts and sat indian style and a light came on and a big muslim guy came out just stared at my friend as he kept worshiping. they asked what he was doing and he said worshiping jesus and they just asked him to leave.. my friend had so much authority and faith…please pray for him cuz now he claims to be an atheist :/ love you! what fun!

Leave a Reply

