Jerusalem: Buying Ice Cream, Praying for Healing

The Story:

Perhaps I’ve been given the divine gift of timely dessert cravings. Why? A few nights ago I experienced, for the second time, a divine encounter in the midst of a late night ice cream run to the convenient store. My friend and I were picking out ice cream flavors yet to be discovered and as we found our new favorite (coconut!!!), a heavenly encounter stepped through the entry way in the form of a man with a hurt leg.

Head practically in the freezer, I came up for a breath of reality and said, “Your leg – is it ok?” Oddly enough, when I see injured people now, I just realize their injury. I forget about the tact of introducing yourself, making small talk, and so on. Getting right to the point (ice cream and healing the man’s leg, of course), my friend picked up on our divine encounter and says, “Can we pray for you!?” She’s practically jumped out of her pajamas in excitement knowing that the God of Israel was longing to show Himself to this man. The man’s friend, not appeased, disapproved in Hebrew we didn’t understand and motioned for his friend to carry on the other direction.

My friend and I looked at each other, shrugged shoulders, and continued to dig for treasure in the ice cream freezer. Figuring we weren’t there just for the ice cream, I paid for our coconut delight and ventured the few steps toward the bread (it’s a pretty small convenience store) to pray for the guy. When there are language barriers, as there were in this instance, one can repeat themselves many times without implying other people’s ignorance or misunderstanding. This can actually come in handy. Therefore, my friend and I asked again if we could pray for his leg to be healed.

Too excited to think, my friend blurted out, “it works!” as she laughed, overwhelmed by Papa’s love for this man. We blessed him, prayed for healing in the name of Yeshua, and that was the moment I realized the name of Yeshua carries weight in a different way than I’ve seen. The man’s face turned to a surprised question mark as he repeated, “Yeshua!?”

It’s almost like the name was an unexpected, unknown answer. He wasn’t offended, though his friends were more than displeased. Probably more out of shock than anything, he stood there as we quickly blessed his leg, then asked how it felt. I don’t know if it was due to not knowing what to do, due to shock, or due to him actually feeling better; but he did say that it was good.

We think Yeshua healed him, but with the language barrier, we didn’t know for sure. On the way up the mountain of a hill we live on, we prayed for him and blessed him to have dreams and visions and to know Yeshua in a personal way.

I think this man was a Jew, practicing or not I don’t know, but I pray we made him jealous to love Jesus. (Romans 11:14) I pray that we (my friend and I) who have been grafted in, showed him the power of God that night and that he comes to know Yeshua as the Messiah. Either way, I know that we were obedient and that Jesus is pleased with His Beloved! 🙂

I pray this encourages you to embrace boldness and to keep praying for people!

Until next time, shalom and keep on keepin’ on!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in healing, Israel, Jerusalem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

