Jerusalem: For freedom we’ve been …stuck in an elevator?!

I’m finding a common theme in these stories of being able to pray for people. It was never a moment people would deem as “super spiritual”. It didn’t happen within four walls or in a healing meeting. In fact, the experience many times included going to get food because we were hungry. When I think about it, though, this makes sense.

Jesus’ miracles often happened when people were hungry. He fed the thousands and made much out of little. Story of our lives. Even when people weren’t hungry or needy but just wanted more booze, Jesus did a miracle. (John 2) It always cracks me up that I read this is the first miracle recorded – turning water to wine. Jesus was completely NOT religious! I love that about my God!

I love that He doesn’t call a bunch of people together for a meeting to figure out how to be a Christian. Instead, He lives His daily life, teaching, healing, and eating and drinking with people. He goes to weddings. He has a life! He eats with people and dines with the lowly prostitutes and tax collectors. He’s a real guy. He isn’t into ministry. He’s all about Love. (Really Him being all about Love means that He’s really all about Himself).

That said, this encourages me. Jesus is a real man who had a real life. He didn’t wait for opportunities to happen. He just lived and when the opportunities arose, He spoke to the storm, healed people, cast out demons, and ate with the lowly.

I want my life to be like this. Thank God for the process of learning to live like this.

The Story:

Learning to live like this… It was a moment like any other. I needed a breather. We’d climbed a hill (what’s new here?), and as I was looking for an excuse to breathe easy again, I heard music. Pleasantly drawn in, I walked toward the apartment complex feeling like I was in a classic novel. The windows drawn open, breeze flowing through, fresh air swept through the house as a sweet sound reveled the neighborhood.
“Morgan? What are you doing?” I heard in the background as my friend saw me wondering away from our destination.

“Music… it’s coming from here….” (I told you it felt like a classic novel. I’m not even increasing the “cheese” level…. You’re getting real life stories!)

“You can’t go over the-“ she was drawn in as well ….”It’s nice, [the music]”… 

If sweet melodies were colors, we would have been covered in blue swirls and gold dust. Caught up in the peace, I looked to my left and saw a woman with a crutch. As stated before … we’re working on tact, thus, naturally, I grabbed my friend, left the colorful rhythms behind, and marched toward the hobbling woman.

My friend and I had just been talking days before about how when we were out and about in the city we wanted to be bold and pray for healing for people. This was one of those times! Seize the day!

Fortunately, when someone has one crutch, you can double time them pretty easily. We made it to her destination the same time as she did to find out she lived in our building! Crowding in to the box of an elevator to our floor, we asked if we could bless her leg to pray for healing.

We asked if she were hurting and she responded yes, thus we prayed for the pain to go away. After praying, she said she pain went down and it felt a little better, thus we prayed again for complete healing. Oddly enough, the situation became hilarious at this point, as she’d reached her floor level (one below ours) but we weren’t done blessing her. My friend stood in the elevator doorway, taking one for the team as the door kept knocking her sideways, trying to close.

This could only last for a few seconds before we would burst into laughter, and the woman was ready to leave. Who knows you can’t hold people captive to heal them? “For freedom we’ve been set free”… not for freedom we’ve been stuck in an elevator in order that two people can pray for your leg to be healed. The woman hobbled out and we pursed our cheeks together as tight as possible before we let out a wail of laughter, falling over in the elevator.

What can I say? The joy of the Lord is our strength?! Haha! Praying for people is great. Watching miracles, signs, and healing is awesome. Praying for people and having hilarious encounters – I think this is all part of the blessing Jesus gives us. Hilarious divine encounters! What a blessing!

Moral of the story, we obeyed. She felt better, which was great. Moreover, we blessed the Lord and touched His heart. Obeying Jesus is the goal. Nothing else matters. Seeing people healed and watching miracles happen – awesome! I’m called to pray for people to see them healed. When I don’t see people get healed, though, what then? The funny thing about this is, I don’t know that anything changes. I’m still called to pray for people. I’m still called to obey. I’m still called to love Jesus. I’m still called to love people and have compassion on them. Loving Jesus with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength – this is what He asks of me. (Luke 10:27) This is what I aim for. This is my reward, to love Him well. He knows that I love Him when I obey Him, thus I aim to obey Him well. (2 John 1:6)

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in healing, Jerusalem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jerusalem: For freedom we’ve been …stuck in an elevator?!

  1. sallyaroos says:

    Thanks for sharing, Morgan. I’m encouraged!

  2. Odd says:

    amazing! i love you so much! im excited to hang out when u get back and we go eat and heal people 😛

Leave a Reply

