Color My Bible!

Sometimes reading Scripture is super insightful and exciting. I love those times when I lose track of time reading Scripture, because the Lord is showing me His heart through His Word. I’ve got to be real, though. Sometimes it’s not like that.

….Anybody in the boat with me on this one? Sometimes reading the Word is a labor of love. Sometimes it teaches me discipline. Sometimes I either don’t understand it or just need more revelation.

I know to pray to ask the Lord for more revelation, (Ephesians 1:17-18) and I know that in the reading it’s not the Lord who is boring when I read these Scriptures. I also know it’s just a normal part of life. Some days are exciting. Other days help us to be disciplined. It’s just life. I choose to love the Lord in the seemingly mundane and in the times I find to be exciting.

However, I do have control of HOW I engage with the Lord. I can choose to engage in different ways in different seasons with the Lord. I have freewill to embrace the creativity of the Lord, and one of these ways lately has been to incorporate color when reading the Word!

Color me pretty!
I’ve been coloring my Bible! 🙂
It helps me to engage with what the Word is saying instead of just reading over it quickly. I use different colors to represent certain things.

Yellow represents things which stand out or have been highlighted to me.
Purple represents who God says I am – my God-given identity.
Baby Blue represents God’s identity – who He says He is.
Gray filled-in boxes are Apostolic Prayers.
Orange represents repeated themes.

I can add colors to represent different themes as I read through specific books, but these general colors/meanings have helped me to engage with the Word in a different way than I have before. My friend gave me this good idea when she told me they colored through their Bibles for specific studying purposes.

If you find it helpful to engage in the Word in this way, go for it!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Color My Bible!

  1. Dave Gascho says:

    Love to see you diving in, chewing on, and digesting God’s Word through the use of color! God’s Word will not return void! Have a God day! 🙂
    Dad

Leave a Reply

