We can’t shoot each other while letting the enemy get away

How happy is the one whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered!
How happy is the man the Lord does not charge with sin, and in whose spirit is no deceit!
– Psalm 32:1-2

I’ve been meditating on this verse lately. I’ve been thinking about people who are happy and people who are not. It’s obvious when you meet some people that they are happy. It’s also unfortunately quite obvious when people are not happy. I will refer to these people as “grumpy”, because I was asking myself ….

‘Self, what is the opposite of happy?’

As I asked this question, the word ‘grumpy’ came to mind.

I put in the opposite of what the Word says.
If “how happy is the one whose transgression is forgiven”, I figure it might also mean, “how grumpy is the one whose transgression is not forgiven”.

This gives reason to why people would walk around a city, scowl on their face, mad at the world. If they are not forgiven, they do not know the Forgiver. If they are not forgiven, they do not know the Freedom Giver. If they are not forgiven, they are walking in shame, knowingly or unknowingly.

Thinking about the “grumps” in this way gave me more compassion for those who do not know the Lord. Sometimes I take for granted that I’m forgiven. Sometimes I take the Gospel for granted. It’s so engrained in my brain that I have a Savior who loves me and who has forgiven me. It’s right there. I’m right there. I have access to the Father. It’s just how it is.

For people who don’t know this, though … no wonder they walk around with their head hanging low! No wonder they are sad! No wonder they are fearful! They don’t know they have a Father who protects them. They don’t know they have a Just Judge who will take vengeance for them.

In light of being in Israel right now where there are people who are acting out of this “grumpy” state of mind, I’m reminded that the Gospel is the answer.

The Gospel of Jesus Christ is sufficient to take away people’s grumpiness. The Gospel of Jesus Christ is sufficient to take away people’s bad and evil thoughts which lead to their bad and evil actions. They don’t need to have those thoughts. They weren’t created for those thoughts. They were created to worship Jesus! They were created for more than what they are currently walking in.

It breaks my heart that these people don’t know Jesus. It’s sad to me that they COULD BE my brothers and sisters but that they currently don’t know my Good Father. People who could be my brothers and sisters are being mentally slaughtered into believing lies.

I think of Romans 8 and how dwelling on things of the flesh leads to death.

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot. Those who are in the flesh cannot please God.
Romans 8:5-8

This Scripture is my prayer for people who’ve been dwelling on things of the flesh. I realize that we do not fight against flesh and blood, but that our fight is against spiritual powers that want evil to rule on earth. (Ephesians 6:12)

For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. – Ephesians 6:12

I pray that God will change the hearts of the people who’ve been dwelling on the flesh. I pray that He would change their hearts of stone to hearts of flesh, and that they would soften to hear the voice of God. I pray that God would put the Holy Spirit in them and that they would dwell on things of the Spirit in order that they can have life and peace. 

I think this is just a glimpse of the heart of God – that as many as possible would be saved to Himself. 

The Lord is not slow to fulfill his promise as some count slowness, but is patient toward you, not wishing that any should perish, but that all should reach repentance.
2 Peter 3:9

I pray that God changes our hearts to love what He loves and to hate what He hates. May we be broken over sin and not enraged at people. May we direct our war toward the evil spirit and not the flesh. May we direct our worship to Jesus, keep our eyes and focus on Jesus, and gain more of His heart for the world. As we stay focused on Jesus, we will become more like Him. As we become more like Him, we will begin to even more so hate what He hates and love what He loves. 

This simple affection for Jesus will shift our glance.
Our eyes will be on Jesus.
Our eyes will be on love.
Our eyes will be on the love that casts out fear. 

When Love overwhelms, fear has no room to dwell. 
Love overwhelms fear to have no place within us. 

 There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. – 1 John 4:18

May we be Love mongers and fear haters in Jesus name. Amen! 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Israel, Jerusalem, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

