Setting My Mind on Things Above Results in Rewards I Desire

So if you have been raised with the Messiah, seek what is above, where the Messiah is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on what is above, not on what is on the earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with the Messiah in God. When the Messiah, who is your life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory. 
Colossians 3:1-4

Three things stand out to me in this Scripture passage. 

1. Present Day Truths
2. Promises (good consequences) for obeying
3. Future promises

Present Day Truths…
1. We (Believers) have been raised with the Messiah.
2. The Messiah is seated at the right hand of God.
3. You have died.
4. Your life is hidden with the Messiah in God.
5. The Messiah is your life.

Commands…
1. Seek what is above.
2. Set your minds on what is above, not on what is on the earth.

Future Promises…
1. When the Messiah is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory.

We have a command from the Lord. It’s simple.
COMMAND: SEEK WHAT IS ABOVE.

We also have a promise from the Lord. It’s simple, too.
PROMISE: WHEN THE MESSIAH IS REVEALED, THEN YOU ALSO WILL BE REVEALED WITH HIM IN GLORY.

I’m reminded of other Scriptures where the Lord commands us to seek what is above.

SEEK WHAT IS ABOVE…

So if you have been raised with the Messiah, seek what is above, where the Messiah is, seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on what is above, not on what is on the earth. For you have died, and your life is hidden with the Messiah in God. When the Messiah, who is your life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory. 
Colossians 3:1-4

For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. 
Romans 8:5-6

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. – Matthew 6:33

To me, it is obvious that we have no other option than to seek what is above. To me, it seems that our ‘ordinary’ should be to have our “head in the clouds”. It makes sense that Believers should be living in a reality that doesn’t make sense to people on earth who don’t know Jesus. We, as Believes, have no excuse to look like the world. We’ve been commanded to have our hearts, our emotions, our spirits, our thoughts engaged with Jesus, enamored by Jesus.

What are we looking at, if not Jesus?
What are we searching out, if not Jesus?
Who are we looking at, if not Jesus?

Oh, that we would be Believers and set our minds on things in the Heavens. Jesus, convince Your church that we have no time for anything but You. Convince us to have our hearts and desires set on Heavenly things.

I see the promises and rewards that goes along with obeying the Lord. I see that setting my mind on what is above results in being revealed with Jesus in His glory. I see that choosing to set my mind on the things of the Spirit results in life and peace. I see that seeking first His Kingdom and His righteousness results in all the things I need (food, clothes, and material things for my body to be healthy).

I am convicted that I have not been enamored by, captivated by, the One True Beauty in the world.

Jesus, 
I choose to set my mind on what is above. I want to receive the reward. I want to be revealed with You in glory. 
I choose to set my mind on things of the Spirit. I want to receive the reward. I want to experience life and peace. 
I choose to seek first Your Kingdom and Your righteousness, that I may be lacking no good thing – that I may know You are my Jehovah Jireh, my Provider, giving me everything I need. And I lack nothing.
Amen.  

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

