This Bread, The Cup

You don’t know how you hurt me
But I do, I do.
For my own sake, I forgive you.
I cannot remain who I am and condemn a broken man.

Because I’ve been there, too. I’ve been there, too
Probably more than I want to remember, I’ve been there, too.

I just need the simple Gospel – the kind a fisherman clings to…
Simple in theory, applicable in life, accessible to all

Just give me more of that simple Gospel.
Blood spilled so I don’t have to.

Blood spilled.
There was blood spilled.

BLOOD SPILLED.

From You, blood spilled.

Blood spilled.
There.
Was.
Blood.
Spilled.

…So I don’t have to…

…I don’t have to
spill it myself

…I don’t have to
force it from others
or force it on others

YOU drink the cup, if you are willing to carry a cross and a cup to the grave

I don’t have to, because I’m free.

Blood spilled.
I’m free.

I’m free from injury, free from declaring war,
Free from harming another, free from taking vengeance

                                     Yet, I am asked

I’m asked to drink the cup
And to eat this bread

A look-through-history kind of theology
Something profoundly upside-down
Proclaiming the death of Divinity as my victory, choosing to examine   myself before Thee
The blood might not quench my thirst, rather it awakens my hunger for this bread

I cannot
I cannot have the blood without this bread
A body weeps blood, and blood cannot be contained without a body

The bread soaks up the blood.
Then I can eat it.
The bread dipped in the cup is the full portion.
You are my full portion, bread and blood.

“Your body poured out for us”

“Eat this bread and drink the cup”

I cannot have the blood without the bread.
It’s not “this without that”.
They go together – the cup of sorrow and the bread feeding my soul needs

“Eat this bread and drink the cup.”
Is this the meal we have amidst the table of my enemies?

Lord, strengthen me.
Use your rod, your staff.

I’ll embrace pain if the result is glory.
I’ll embrace hardship for long-term joy.
It’s the process of drawing close to you.

Your mercy triumphs over judgment,
And I’ll find it when I draw close to You.
Then You’ll draw close to me.
In Your presence I’ll find peace.

For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread,24 and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, “This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” In the same way also he took the cup, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.   – 1 Corinthians 11:23-26

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
Image | This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

