2016 -> Morgan Goes to South Africa FAQ’s

Shalom friends!

In 17 days, (February 1st), I aim to fly SOUTH AFRICA to complete a six month Disciple Training School with Youth With A Mission (YWAM)!

People have been asking about it, so I thought I’d answer some common questions!

1. What are you doing?
I’m joining Youth With A Mission (YWAM) to do a Discipleship Training School (DTS). Youth With A Mission is an international missions organization aiming “to know God and to make Him known”. YWAM has bases all over the world, and I will be joining the missions base in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.
For the first three months (February – April), our DTS will focus on getting into the Word and praying and worshiping together. The last few months (May – July), will be outreach focused. Our focus is two-fold. We will be going to local high schools to build relationships, do Bible studies, and to share the Gospel. Secondly, we will build relationships with youth who are unemployed as we practice life skills together. 

11538_348929065531_893150531_9918719_3610505_n
Photo of Siya and I drumming together before dinner. This is when I had gnarly, long
dreaded hair, because I had just 
had my dreads put in! (2009)

2. Where are you going?
I’m going to Port Elizabeth, South Africa, which is the same city where I lived from 2009-2010 as I was studying abroad at Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University.

Beach Silhoutte
A silhouette  of my friends and I on the beach. You can see the outline of the city,
Port Elizabeth, in the background. (2009)

3. When are you leaving?
February, hopefully the first. It’s Iowa’s winter and South Africa’s summer. Hallelujah!

Trees & Water
A view as we were hiking in Tsitsikamma, a national park in South Africa. (2009)

4. How long will you be there?
As far as I know, six months. I am able to stay on staff with YWAM after July, and if it works out, I could end up staying longer than the original six months.

5. Are you excited?
I am more than excited! While I was in Israel, the Lord was encouraging me and again stirring up a passion about going to the nations and preaching the Gospel. I believe my time spent in Port Elizabeth and South Africa will be good, encouraging, and life giving!

Party with Internationals - Fireflies Song
Photo with friends and international students representing over seven nations!
While I was there, it was easy to become acquainted with internationals! (2009)

6. How can I pray for you?
A. Please pray my team and I would dwell together in unity. (Psalm 133)
B. Please pray that we would all love Jesus and people well. (Matthew 22:36-40)
C. Please pray for full financial provision. (Luke 10:1-12, Acts 6:2)

Thanks for all the prayers and support! I pray God continues to give us all the Spirit of wisdom and revelation (Ephesians 1:17) in knowing how to love Jesus and people well! Amen!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Where in the world is Morgan?! and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

