Knowing the Will of God

How do we know the will of God?
We do the will of God by being in tune with the Holy Spirit.

“…those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit…”
– Romans 8:5

Want to live like Jesus? Want to live according to the Spirit?
Great! It doesn’t have to be complicated! We just set our minds on the things of the Spirit!

What does it mean to set our minds on the things of the Spirit?
It means to focus on Jesus, because He is One with the Father and Holy Spirit.

How?
Sing to Jesus. Talk about Jesus. Pray to Jesus. Draw pictures for Jesus. Take walks with Jesus. It just means to set our affection, our gaze, our attention on Jesus.

Why?
The result of setting our minds on Jesus is life and peace.

“…to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace…” – Romans 8:6

When our focus is not on Jesus and not on the Holy Spirit, it is probably on the flesh. If our minds are set on the flesh, the result is death.

“…to set the mind on the flesh is death…” – Romans 8:6

That said, most people I know would probably choose life and peace over death.

I can hear you, now. “Great. I knew that. I love Jesus. I know to focus on Jesus. Now what is the will of God about my marriage? About this job I could take? About relocating my family? About my health problems?”

In our daily lives, we can make a choice to practice focusing on Jesus and as time goes on we will be filled with more life and more peace, but what about the BIG decisions of our lives?

I used to have the same question. I used to worry a lot about huge decisions, and it used to take a lot of striving, worry, and time before I got to the peaceful part (usually after the decision was made). A tool I’ve used since then has given me great peace in many circumstances.

Henry Blackabee’s book, Experiencing God: How to Live the Full Adventure of Knowing and Doing the Will of God, explains four specific things to base our decisions off of to remain in the will of God.

1. Scripture
2. Counsel from other Believers
3. Prayer
4. Circumstances

*Note: He mentioned that never ever do we look at circumstances alone, but we do take into consideration the situations/circumstances around us to determine the will of God.

Now when I have a big decision to make, I look at these four things. I pray this is helpful and practical for you in making big decisions and knowing the will of God!

 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

