Unlocking Good Answers Starts with the Key of Asking Good Questions

Shalom, friends!

Earlier this week, I felt as though I didn’t know what this season held for my life, and I wanted to further understand; therefore I asked God for specific things to focus on. Many times the Lord will give me one, two, or three specific things to pray for, to study, or to meditate on for a specific season of life. These topics change as I grow, but in this season I’ve wanted to meditate on “the heart of a Shepherd”.

I asked the Lord about this, because I believe that unlocking good answers starts with the key of asking good questions. Because of this, I continue to ask the Holy Spirit for wisdom to ask good questions. I find that it’s sometimes easier for me to converse with the Lord in a question/answer format.

If this helps you to better engage with the Lord, feel free to use this format as well! It may help to start writing down the questions and answers you feel the Lord is giving you. Even if the answers don’t make sense in the moment, you can write them down, and then later check to see if they align with the Truth of Jesus. I suggest this, because sometimes we hear, sense, feel, or experience Jesus speaking to us in ways that are different than we expect and we dismiss His voice as our own thinking or as “not the Lord”. If we write something down, we can look at it later, check through Scriptures, pray about it, and speak with other Jesus-Lovers who can also pray about it with us. I think all of these practices are wise and can help us to discern more clearly if it is the Lord’s voice and to discern what He is saying to us.

That said, here is an example from this morning of one of the ways I choose to engage with the Lord. Again, feel free to use this format if it brings you closer to Jesus!

Question:
Lord, what are you highlighting to me in this season of life?

Answer:
1. The heart of a Shepherd
2. Leadership
3. The Spirit of Elijah

Question: Lord, how can I learn about these things? What resources can You show me now that I can use to meditate on these things?

Answer:
1. The heart of a Shepherd
Psalm 23
Biblical Example: David
2. Leadership
Philippians 2 and 4 and Jesus as the Servant Leader
Biblical Example: Paul
Discernment, 1 John 4
Remaining and Abiding, John 15
3. The Spirit of Elijah
Praying about this
Reading about Elijah to better understand his heart, his ways, and what motivates him
Continuing to pray about adoption and pursuing it

Question: What does Psalm 23 teach me about the Heart of a Shepherd?

Answer:
Jesus is a Good Shepherd who provides for His sheep.

*Note: Because of the length of the answer I received from the Lord from studying Psalm 23, I will continue answering this question in another blog post. I will post soon and keep you updated! Until then, perhaps you can ask God the same question and share with me the revelation He gives YOU!

Enjoy and until next time, Shalom, friends!

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unlocking Good Answers Starts with the Key of Asking Good Questions

  1. Wonderful post, very interesting and helpful. I see a Christian Psychologist for chronic pain, and she recommended the same scenario. I did try it and found it insightful. Thank you for sharing part of your journey. Blessings.

    • morgangascho says:

      Wow, thanks for sharing. I’m sorry to hear about your pain – I pray that it will be gone in the name of Jesus and that you will feel His power and His presence in your body. Be blessed, friend! I pray you have sweet dreams in the night time and that you get wisdom and insight and revelation even as your body sleeps! In Jesus’ sweet name – He loves you so much!

Leave a Reply

