Unlocking Good Answers Starts with the Key of Asking Good Questions, Part 2

…Continued conversation with the Lord from the blog, “Unlocking Good Answers Starts with the Key of Asking Good Questions”

Question: What does Psalm 23 teach me about the Heart of a Shepherd?

Answer:
Jesus is a Good Shepherd who provides for His sheep
Psalm 23:1 The Lord is my Shepherd

Question: What does He provide?
A. Everything the sheep (followers of Jesus) need

Answer:
Psalm 23:1b “…there is nothing I lack…”
B. Rest
Psalm 23:2a “…He lets me lie down…”
C. Food and nutrients my body needs for health and to live
Psalm 23:2a “…He lets me lie down in green pastures”
D. Leadership
Psalm 23:2b “…He leads me…”
E. Refreshing drink in peaceful places and quiet atmospheres
He provides what my body needs to be sustained.
Psalm 23:2b “…He leads me beside quiet waters…”
F. Renewal
Psalm 23:3a “…He renews my life…”
G. Purpose
His leadership in my life has a purpose, which is to glorify His Name! He leads me along specific paths of intention (not random ones) for the sake of the glory of His name.
Psalm 23:3b “…He leads me along the right paths for His name’s sake…”
H. Presence

He provides His continued presence, even through hard times.
Psalm 23:4a “…Even when I go through the darkest valley, I fear no danger, for You are with me…”
I. Protection from my enemies
When I think of a rod and a staff, I think of a long, wooden pole with a hook on the end. This picture, to me, reminds me of a hook which shepherds could use to pull in and reign a sheep when they’re wandering off, away from the pack, and also a stick to use to fight off animal predators (possibly wolves) who come to attack the sheep.
Psalm 23:4b “…Your rod and your staff – they comfort me…”
J. Provision, nutrients, and intimacy even amidst enemies
The provision comes from the food at the table. The nutrients come from actually receiving (picking up and eating) the food on the table. The intimacy comes from engaging with those who are at the table.

Psalm 23:5 “…You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies…”
K. Anointing and abundantly overflowing
Psalm 23:5 “…You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows…”
L. Constant pursuit of goodness and faithful love toward me
Psalm 23:6 “…Only goodness and faithful love will pursue me all the days of my life…”
M. A place to dwell
He provides an atmosphere of worship, which is full of freedom, joy and His presence! J
Psalm 23:6 “…I will dwell in the house of the Lord as long as I live…”

As I learn about the shepherd heart of God, I pray to keep gaining revelation from this Scripture. Let me know if you get any more insights!

Until next time, shalom, friends! 🙂

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

