God’s thoughts towards the righteous compared to the wicked (Psalms 1-14)

I’ve been reading through the Psalms today and yesterday, and a theme stuck out. I saw a difference of the Lord’s thoughts and actions towards the righteous compared with His thoughts and actions towards the wicked. These observations are mostly from the Psalms, chapters 1-14, and the list is not exhaustive.

When I look at the earth right now from my own point of view, I don’t always feel or see the way the Lord feels or sees. I realized this as I read through these lists. 

I will take Psalm 11:5-6 for example. It says, “He examines BOTH the righteous and the wicked and that He will rain burning coals and sulfur on the wicked; a scorching wind will be their portion.” 

When I look from my own point of view right now, I don’t see this. Sometimes I see the violent prospering. Sometimes I see the wicked doing evil and they go unpunished; however, the perspective of the Lord is righteous and good and just. Therefore, I want to change my thinking to agree with the way God thinks and sees.

I pray that He would help me to know and believe that HE is the one who examines both the righteous and the wicked, and that He will bring eternal punishment on those who do not repent and on those who bring violence on earth without changing their ways. 

As you read through these, if there is one or more that is highlighted to you personally, I’d encourage you to write it down, to confess what you believe, and then to exchange what you believed for the Truth of what God’s Word says. It’s simple, but powerful!

The Righteous

The Lord watches over them.
The Lord watches over the way of the righteous – Psalm 1:6

They have a community.
Sinners will not be in the community of the righteous. – Psalm 1:5

They are set apart for the Lord.
The Lord has set apart the faithful for Himself. – Psalm 4:3

They find refuge and rejoice.
All who take refuge in God rejoice. – Psalm 5:11

They are blessed.
The Lord blesses the righteous One. – Psalm 5:12

They’re favored.
The Lord surrounds the righteous one with favor like a shield. – Psalm 5:12

They are examined.
The Lord examines the righteous and the wicked. – Psalm 11:5

They will see the face of God.
The upright will see the face of God. – Psalm 11:7

God is with the righteous.
God is with those who are righteous. – Psalm 14:5

The Wicked

They are not secure.
The wicked are like chaff that the wind blows away. – Psalm 1:4

They won’t survive God’s judgment.
The wicked will not survive the judgment. – Psalm 1:5

They won’t be in righteous community.
Sinners will not be in the community of the righteous. – Psalm 1:5

They are not successful long-term.
The way of the wicked leads to ruin. – Psalm 1:6

God does not delight in their evil deeds.
You are not a God who delights in wickedness. – Psalm 5:4

They cannot dwell in God.
Evil cannot lodge with God. – Psalm 5:4

God hates evildoers.
You hate all evildoers. –Psalm 5:5

They are given a chance to repent, but face the consequence of God’s wrath if they do not repent.
If anyone does not repent, God will sharpen His sword… – Psalm 7:12

They are examined.
The Lord examines the righteous and the wicked. – Psalm 11:5

God hates lovers of violence.
He hates the lover of violence. – Psalm 11:5

Of these Truths, which one stuck out for you?

I hope and pray His perspective blesses you as you read this and that you can identify ways that YOU personally are seeing through your own lenses instead of His own. I pray you can exchange the way you see and think and feel about things for the way He sees and thinks and feels about things. Amen!

As always, shalom, friends!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They will be punished.

He will rain burning coals and sulfur on the wicked; a scorching wind will be their portion. – Psalm 11:6

They wander.
The wicked wander everywhere. – Psalm 12:8
They are foolish and they deny God.
The fool says in his heart, “God does not exist.” – Psalm 14:1

They are corrupt and their actions are revolting.
They are corrupt; their actions are revolting. – Psalm 14:1

 

They frustrate the plans of the afflicted.
You sinners frustrate the plans of the afflicted, but the Lord is His refuge. – Psalm 14:6

 

 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

