The Correlation Between Humility & Grace

  
I think there’s a correlation between humility and grace that I’ve discovered lately. So many times, I talk about needing grace or I hear others say they’re in need of grace. 

God reminded me of James 4:6, where it says, “God resists the proud but gives grace to the humble.” 

This is a promise to me. The humble are the ones who receive grace. I, then, not only want to be humble, but I need to be humble because of my need for grace. 

Four verses down, it tells me that I can humble myself. It’s in my own capability to humble myself. The promise behind it? James 4:10 tells me when it says, “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and He will exalt you.” 

I was wondering about the “how to” humble myself when I realized there was probably direction in between the middle of those verses. 

Verses 7 -9 describe multiple things I can do o humble myself. 

7: submit to God, resist the devil 

8: draw near to God, cleanse my hands, purify my heart 

9: be miserable and mourn and weep and sorrow 

These things don’t necessarily seem like a joy party to me, but when I want the fullness of the Lord, it’s all inclusive – bad, good, and hard times. 

I long to glory with Jesus and I am willing to sorrow with Jesus, too. I want to be exalted by God, therefore I must humble myself. 

I am so aware I need the grace of God. Repeatedly, the Lord tells me how to receive grace. It’s to remain humble. 

He mocks those who mock, but gives grace to the humble. Proverbs 3:34  

Lord, give me grace to remain humble, in order that I can position myself according to Your promise to receive more of Your grace. Amen! 

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

