Seeing the Big Picture in Hard Seasons

Real talk.

This past season has been difficult. (I wrote this a week or so ago, and now I feel like I’m coming into a new season and the Lord is giving me and us breakthrough, but this word still applies to the past season. Hang in there, friends, if you’re still feeling like you’re standing in the midst of a fire.)

This past season I’ve tried to identify what has happened and what has needed to happen. I’ve tried asking the Lord “why?” and I’ve tried giving up. That didn’t last for long, because the Lord has given grace to endure. “Forgetting” about the problem wasn’t a solution, and sitting in frustration just led to greater frustration. Intercession, worship, and venting were the expressions that enabled me to endure.

The fact is that sometimes we go through hard seasons. The harder fact for me is that sometimes we go through hard seasons and we don’t know why. Knowing something is hard – I can deal with that. Going through something that is hard and not knowing why – that’s just annoyingly frustrating.

When I don’t understand something that I want to know, and I feel like I’m not getting answers as I am seeking the Lord, I get frustrated. After I realize frustration won’t do anything, I look for wisdom other Believers have gained. Thank God that other Believers spend time with the Lord and gain wisdom from Him. I’m grateful for people who share Truth like Havilah Cunnington, who says it like it is. A month or so ago, I listened to one of her sermons/podcasts and jotted down a few key points that resonated deeply.

I think her reality encouraged me to look at the bigger picture of life and to see a timeline instead of only seeing my current situation. When I look back in the past on the timeline, I can understand how some things in the past connect to what I’m doing now and how it’s been beneficial and helpful. I can’t exactly do the same thing with the future, though. I can look at my present situation without full understanding but still know the Lord will use it in the future.

Knowing the Lord will work all things out for my good is a relief. It helps me to persevere and to keep going, but it doesn’t necessarily make the present situation easier. Sometimes life is just hard. When we don’t know why life is hard in the present moment, I think looking at the bigger picture is helpful. This life is short, and this season is only for a time. I want to get out of it everything the Lord has for me. I don’t want to miss a thing, and I don’t want to settle just because things are hard. If I settle when things are hard, then I have little strength. It’s not a problem to have little strength, by the way – it just means that the Lord needs to help me grow in strength. Another life lesson. This life is such a journey….

My friends, I hope and pray you learn to encourage yourselves in the Lord, as I am doing, in order that we may remain fruitful. Here’s notes from Havilah’s. I pray they encourage you to see the bigger picture, specifically during hard, intense seasons.

We walk through some things to help others.
 

God is not being mean. He’s not trying to torture me. He’s letting me see deliverance and freedom in my life.

I’m stuck, because my calling and future is dependent on what I’m learning right now.

There are a lot of people waiting for me on the other side of my obedience. Let me not miss the point.

Part of humility is being able to walk through hard things with a clean, pure heart and say, “I’m willing to actually go through this for the sake of those You (Jesus) want to reach”.

I’ve read through these notes multiple times this season, and I pray that I can believe the Truth within them.

If this resonated, share with us how you’ve been encouraged in hard seasons. I’d love to hear!

I hope these words encourage you as they have encouraged me.

Until next time,
Shalom friends!

– Morgan

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeing the Big Picture in Hard Seasons

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am experiencing the same way with the death of Kathy. The Lord has made me single – why? What does He want me to do, where is He going to send me?

    I will have to rely on the Lord and His patience with me.

    I will pray for safe journey for you and the rest of your group.

    • morgangascho says:

      wow, thanks for sharing. I pray Isaiah 40 – for comfort for you. In hard seasons – shoot… in any season – asking God questions helps me to have good conversations with Him. I pray Holy Spirit gives you good questions, and that He gives you grace to listen and to speak, both in the right timing.

Leave a Reply

