Living Out Our Identity

Willingly or unwillingly, I think I’m learning about humility in this season.

I keep hearing about it, and I’ve been given a definition.

Humility: being willing to be known for who you are, not less and not more.

If this is definition is true, humility requires responsibility and action. It requires responsibility and action, because God has given us identity (who we are) for a reason. He doesn’t tell us who we are so we can get on a high horse and say we have identity from God. No – he gives us identity in order that we can glorify Him by walking according to the fullness of our calling. There’s a purpose to our identity. It’s something to be lived out. He gives us identity (example: worshiper) in order that we can do something about it (example: to worship Him). Who we are (worshiper) determines what we do (worship). Our identity guides us in what to do.

A question that has given me great clarity in my identity has been the following, and I’ve asked the Lord this question many, many times over the last few years is “God, who do You say I am?”.

A follow-up question that helps me to reflect upon the Lord’s answer and to put it into practical application is, “How am I living that out right now?”.

My practical application -> have a conversation with God.
1. Ask, “Lord, who do You say I am?”

Listen to the Lord’s response, write it down, and ask Him to help it go from brain knowledge to belief.

2. Reflect upon what the Lord has said and partner with Him by asking, “How am I living that out right now?” and “How can I agree with what You’ve said about me?”

I hope and pray these questions help us to simply connect and communicate with God and encourage us to be effective and live according to our full potential in the eyes of Jesus. Amen!

Until next time,
Shalom friends!

– Morgan

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

