Everyone is Given Different Amounts of Grace.

God gives us grace, but the grace given to each person may differ.

For by the grace given to me, I tell everyone among you not to think of himself more highly than he should think. – Romans 12:3a

I may have grace to do kid’s ministry while my neighbor does not. My friend may have grace to go to a community to share the Gospel with people four times a week, while I may have grace to do the same exact thing once a week. Neither is wrong nor right. Neither demands applause nor rebuke. Both are good and pleasing before the Lord when we are simply obeying Him with pure motive. What is right is obeying the Lord by joyfully and generously doing what God has asked us to do.

On the flip side, this also pertains to us not doing what the Lord has not given us grace to do. For some of us, this may be difficult because we want to prove to ourselves that we can complete ___________ (list your flesh challenge). I may be capable and trained to do children’s ministry, preach to masses, and do administration work. However, if this is a season of restoration and healing for me, the Lord may remove the grace to do those things in this season. When I forget this reality and start doing all these ministries and wonder why it feels like I keep ramming my head into a closed door, it might be an indicator that God has removed the grace for me to do those things in this season.

I’m just now re-thinking this season and how so many things were difficult for me that have not been difficult before. Perhaps it was the enemy. Perhaps it was other people. Perhaps it was that the grace for me to do those things were removed in this season. Whatever the case, I never ever want to do anything because I am capable, willing, and able. I never want to do anything in my flesh. I just want to do what the Holy Spirit tells me to do. Jesus said what the Father was saying. Jesus did what the Father was doing. I want to be like that. I want to be so focused on what Someone Else (Jesus) is saying, doing, and thinking, that I’m following Their (God’s) every move.

In practical application, I can ask the question, “Holy Spirit, what are You highlighting for me in this season?” instead of asking “Am I capable to do this?” The truth of the matter is, I can do a lot of things. The Lord has made me capable and able; but what is the best thing I can do in this season?

I once had someone tell me that if the enemy can’t deceive me with evil, he will tempt me with what is good or great to distract me from what is best. I don’t know if satan knows what is best for me, but I do know he’s strategic in his thinking and his plans. He has to be. He’s losing quickly, he has a limited amount of power (he has 1/3 of the angels while God has 2/3 of the angels), and he has limited knowledge and time. The guy is in a rut – not that I feel bad for him. It just makes me aware that I want what’s best in my life – not just what’s just good or “doable”. I don’t want to settle for anything less than the best that the Lord has for me. It would be a shame to lose out on the best that the Lord has for me, especially because I just simply didn’t believe the Truth that He wanted it for me.

That said, I can ask the Holy Spirit, “what are you highlighting to me in this season?”. I’ve heard that the Lord doesn’t throw a bunch of things at us in one season, and that He usually highlights a few things, if not just one.

I wonder, then, what is the Holy Spirit highlighting to you in this season?
What is He highlighting to me?
What do we have grace for in this season?
Of equal importance, what do we not have grace for in this season?
What can we gain in this season that we couldn’t gain in any other?

Whether this season of life is in the pits or it’s in the clouds, let’s not miss what the Lord has for us in the now. It’d be a pity to have to go through another lesson all over again because we missed it the first time – especially if it’s not such a fun one.

Life lessons. I’m speaking to myself here probably more than others, so feel free to learn from my mistakes! J I hope and pray we can gain in this season what we can’t in other seasons and that we gain revelation on what the Holy Spirit is highlighting to us.

Until next time,
Shalom friends!

– Morgan

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

