Pursuing Pleasure (continued…)

Embracing pleasure produces thankfulness.
Not embracing pleasure produces guilt (possibly over a blessing the Good Lord could be trying to give).

When the Ultimate Giver freely gives us a gift or rewards us with something, who are we to say no? Who are we to disagree? Who are we to disagree with the Lord?

Similarly, when the same Good Lord calls us to experience intimacy by joining Him in a place of sorrow, who are we to deny Him? Could this invitation not also be a gift? Though painful, though not pleasurable, could we find glory in embracing Jesus’ invitation – that He would actually trust one that He made to dwell with Him in sorrow?

I’m learning. Perhaps the emotion (whether sorrow, delight, or another) is not as important as the one or the One with whom it is shared. There is something deep within the human soul that resonates in dwelling with one another or with The One in trial (producing steadfastness), in grief (producing an opportunity to be comforted), and in pleasure (producing delight). I believe it’s all a part of communion. Perhaps communion is of dwelling with one another and with the The One. If it is, I believe it’s an art, learned and persuasive.

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

