Processing Disappointment #1

Soon the wise lady leading the afterglow quietly said, “I believe Scripture instructs us to bear one another’s burdens, not analyze them.”

SLG Coaching

Several years ago, a good friend took me on a vacation to Algonquin in Canada.  It was a fantastic time of canoeing, portaging, camping and talking.  A memory maker of gargantuan proportions.

Recently another opportunity came up to return there.  I looked forward to it for months and tacked it onto the end of the trip to Canada last weekend.  I went in on Sunday with high expectations and left on Tuesday with my tail between my legs.  What happened is immaterial.  The point of this blog is to explore some facets of dealing with disappointment.

In absolute terms, it was just a vacation that took a weird twist.  Not a big deal.  Just about all of us have one or two of those in a lifetime.  In the immediate, though, it was a huge disappointment.  I was looking forward to engaging with nature, to being on the water in…

View original post 1,286 more words

About morgangascho

I grew up in Iowa, USA (famous for growing corn). I'm contemplative, I love writing, and blogging has become a hobby. Writing worship music is a way to engage in sweet conversation with the Divine Creator of the Universe, Jesus. He is my life. I am hidden in Him and I pray that someday I will know what that means. Until then, I'm seeking His glory, waiting for the day when it will all be revealed to me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

