Pruning is for Sons and Daughters

When you’ve done all you can do, stand
I’ve one upped the stand ard
And stood, putting one front in front of the other
Figuring something is better than nothing

The garden I planted in spring,
It froze in the cold of the night
The summer was too short
To produce a plentiful harvest to enjoy

I just came inside from tending my garden
Where pruning wasn’t an option, as plants have already died
What I planted in spring, I expected would survive
I guess some seasons exist to teach lessons that living things still die

Death a harsher reality when faced with it’s existence
In theory, not too hard, but full of pain in real life instances
What I thought would grow, what I thought was good
I don’t know what’s more frustrating, that it died or that I thought I understood

Seeds, maybe they’ll all take their own route
I can plant and water, I can pray for healthy harvest
I can invest in and speak blessings over living things
And in the end, there has to be a will to live

I’ll bless, I’ll grow, I’ll love a healthy garden
It’s the blood, sweat, and tears, the effort worth the time
Not just the produce I’m looking for
Time well spent, it’s all been worth while

Incorruptible seed, find your season
I’ll pray I’m aware and liberated to watch your germination
And even if you grow beyond my passing,
I still believe it’s true that I’ll see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living

Pruning is for survivors, chosen sons and daughters
Who weather the storm and hold tight in high winds
Who learn fear is a lying counselor, who’s unwilling to weather
The enemy silhouettes watching us eat at the Father’s table where we gather

Leave a comment